Topic Title: I have inherited an AMD chipset. It is IMPOSSIBLE to identify. [pictures]
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/21/2013 02:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/21/2013 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
griipen
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/21/2013

I received an AMD chipset from a friend, who had just bought a new PC.

Neither him nor me have any idea at all regarding which chipset it is, making it hard for me to compose a computer with it, due to the fact that I e.g. don't know which type of RAM it requires.

The things I can tell judging by the look of the card;

- It's AM3 socket.

- Built 2010.

- A text saying "PN 109-C09410-00B"

- A sticker with a bar code saying "00001A1AD88C"

 

I have googled almost every number readable on the chipset without any luck at all.

Here are some pictures, if someone would help me with this I'd be forever grateful!

 02/21/2013 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

If it's an AM3 board, then chances are it uses DDR3 memory.  You can verify that by checking how the memory slots are keyed.  The notch in DDR2 modules is in a different spot than it is for DDR3 modules.

If you can find an FCC ID for the board, then you can look it up in an online database to narrow it down more exactly.  The odd collection of PCI Express slots, and the two molex connectors placed directly on the board make me think it's an OEM board that wasn't sold at retail, which is probably part of the reason why it's been hard to identify. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 02/22/2013 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
matthelm
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/21/2013

I can see a CPU.  Get the CPU part number, and then at least we can tell you what socket it is.

 02/22/2013 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12254
Joined: 04/17/2008

Or you could look up a program called "CPUz" and find out everything you need to know

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/22/2013 11:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

I imagine that's difficult to do when you haven't built the machine yet... 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 02/23/2013 03:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

built in 2010 and with 4 PCI E 16x slots most likely means its a 790FX chipset.

or an 890FX chipset since those were released i the beginning of 2010. (and has 4 PCI-E 16X slots)

So its one or the other.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 02/28/2013 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Nerfed

Posts: 56
Joined: 10/21/2011

I do not know if OP will be back, but seems he found the answer after installing an OS. Just posting here in case anyone interested.

 

AMD FX970 chipset (with FX-81 processor), both ES.

 

http://www.sweclockers.com/forum/54-amd/1190075-vad-sjutton-ar-detta-moderkort-omojligt-att-identifiera-bilder/index7.html



-------------------------

an Alpha Geek @ AMD Processors Forums | 01/21/2006 | post count 3217



Edited: 02/28/2013 at 10:51 AM by go_for
Statistics
84337 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.