Topic Title: IOMMU support
Topic Summary: Details about IOMMU support by AMD hardware
Created On: 07/29/2013 04:49 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/29/2013 04:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
submaster
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/29/2013

Hello everyone.

Does anybody knows, where I can find list of AMD products, supporting IOMMU ? And how AMD names technologies, implementing IOMMU ?

I've found a lot of abbrevations, such as AMD-V, AMD-Vi, RVI - but nothing helps to build system.

 

 07/29/2013 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11579
Joined: 04/17/2008

The 890FX chipset has IOMMU BUT it is only fully enabled on certain motherboards, and all 900 series chipset boards support IOMMU.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/29/2013 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
submaster
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/29/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion The 890FX chipset has IOMMU BUT it is only fully enabled on certain motherboards, and all 900 series chipset boards support IOMMU.

And none of previuos chipsets ? Nothing for AM2+ socket ?

 07/29/2013 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11579
Joined: 04/17/2008

No.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/30/2013 04:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
submaster
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/29/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion No.

Thanks

Sorry if I'll took some more time with dumb questions, but what about CPU support ?  890FX supports large variety of AM3 CPUs, including Athlon II and even Sempron. Does that matters ? What core generation supports IOMMU ?

Thanks a lot !!

 07/30/2013 08:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11579
Joined: 04/17/2008

APU's, FX series, and Opteron series. Any CPU which supports AMD-Vi.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/28/2013 08:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
submaster
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/29/2013

Hi everyone !

Since my experiments are almost finished, I decided to write a little about it, since someone could find it useful.

After I've been told that IOMMU supported only in 9xx chipsets (890FX doesn't count ) I've moved test platform to Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3. Cheapiest motherboard I've found for CPU I had.

Despite talks that IOMMU support requires some "modern" CPUs, I started with following:

CPU - Athlon II x2 250

MB - Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3

GPU1 - Leadtek GF6200

GPU2 - Sapphire Radeon 6450

With this configuration I've sucsessfully  achieved main goal of experiment - VM on Xen was able to use dedicated GPU, Radeon 6450.

Also, transferring of varios PCI devices to VM went perfect.

Conclusion - IOMMU is a CHIPSET feature, NOT CPU

 08/28/2013 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11579
Joined: 04/17/2008

The motherboard still has to support that feature. All AMD 900 chipsets support IOMMU, but not all motherboards have an ACPI IVRS table which is required for IOMMU. Lower end boards often lack such features.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/28/2013 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
submaster
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/29/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion The motherboard still has to support that feature. All AMD 900 chipsets support IOMMU, but not all motherboards have an ACPI IVRS table which is required for IOMMU. Lower end boards often lack such features.

Sure. Best method to check - search motherboard manual for IOMMU function. GA-970A-DS3 has it

 08/28/2013 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11579
Joined: 04/17/2008

Then ask Gigabyte why it's not working?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/31/2013 06:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Farming Materials

Posts: 547
Joined: 10/30/2009

I've IOMMU enabled in the bios and AMD installed the driver for it

 



-------------------------









GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
2x SATA3 WD Blue 1TB
Corsair 620W
Win7x64
Statistics
80971 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.