Topic Title: Forward compatibiliy for RAID arrays?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/17/2013 06:06 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/17/2013 06:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Motoman
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/17/2013

I've been wondering...I have an aging machine with a RAID 5 array on a mobo with a 790GX/SB750 combo.

 

To the best of my knowledge, you can't get a mobo with that chipset configuration anymore.  If/when this motherboard dies, and I replace it with, say, a mobo with a SB950...will it just automatically pick up and use that RAID 5 array, or am I somehow going to have to start from scratch?

 09/17/2013 09:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

You will have to rebuild the RAID array.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/17/2013 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Motoman
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/17/2013

That would be...horrible.  Can anyone else confirm this?

 09/17/2013 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

In most instances if you change out the motherboard for a different model you will be using a different RAID utility manager, whether it be just the version or the manufacturer it will have a different driver therefore you will need to rebuild the array.  BUT!!!  Good news for you is that you can make an image of the RAID array and restore it (assuming your are not restoring the OS unless you strip the old hardware drivers out of it) after you rebuild the array.

Cheers!



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 09/18/2013 09:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

You might think about getting rid of RAID as well. With SSDs and hybrid drives, as well as inexpensive high capacity external drives with their own backup software as well as disk image software such as Acronis, you net higher speed and greater protection.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/18/2013 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Motoman
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/17/2013

"In most instances if you change out the motherboard for a different model you will be using a different RAID utility manager, whether it be just the version or the manufacturer it will have a different driver therefore you will need to rebuild the array. BUT!!! Good news for you is that you can make an image of the RAID array and restore it (assuming your are not restoring the OS unless you strip the old hardware drivers out of it) after you rebuild the array."

Yeah, well it looks like that's all you can do.  Which is kind of a let-down, but it is what it is.  Thanks for your input.

 09/18/2013 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Motoman
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/17/2013

"You might think about getting rid of RAID as well. With SSDs and hybrid drives, as well as inexpensive high capacity external drives with their own backup software as well as disk image software such as Acronis, you net higher speed and greater protection."

 

RAID isn't about backup.  It's about availability.  SSDs, external drives, etc. do nothing to increase availability.

Statistics
84710 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.