Topic Title: SATA issue with Kingston V200 SSD and driver 13.9
Topic Summary: I had to go back to SATA drivers from 13.4 after installing 13.9 because the Kingston SSD is dissappearing randomly in W
Created On: 09/24/2013 12:51 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/24/2013 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wildcat_paris
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/24/2013

Hello,

Graphics Card
1 PNY NVIDIA 660Ti

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
13.4, tested 13.9

Operating System
I am using Win7 SP1 64bits, SATA in AHCI mode.

Issue Details

I had to go back to SATA drivers from 13.4 after installing 13.9 because the Kingston SSD is dissappearing randomly in Windows. need to reboot to see the SSD again !!!!

Motherboard or System Make & Model
here is my MB GA-990XA-UD3 (rev. 3.0)
http://www.gigabyte.fr/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4434#ov

Power Supply
FSP 1010W

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
1 viewsonic 24" 120Hz DVI-D
1 Benq 22" 60Hz DVI

Applications and Games
N/A

CPU Details
a FX-8350@4.4GHz CPU watercooling,

Motherboard BIOS Version
GA-990XA-UD3 (rev. 3.0) => Bios # FD 2013/02/05

System Memory Type & Amount
16GB RAM DDR3 1666

Additional Hardware
1 OCZ vertex 2 120 GB (system)

1 Kingston V200 256 GB (games) http://www.kingston.com/us/support/technical/products?model=SV200S3

1 Seagate 1.5GB HDD (temp files, system backup place)

1 DVD burner on SATA

Additional Details
All was working fine before installing 13.9

Thanks

Best regards,

Guillaume



Edited: 09/24/2013 at 01:11 PM by wildcat_paris
 09/26/2013 08:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wildcat_paris
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/24/2013

no answer, so far !

ok, it seems the kingston SSD does no longer disappear with SATA drivers from 13.4

So yes there is an issue with 13.9 SATA Drivers

 

 

 10/22/2013 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dessa
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/22/2013

as this isn't your primary disk, that might be due to disk hibernation set in windows, it somehow broke the way you stated with 13.9, 13.8 works (here).

 10/22/2013 06:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wildcat_paris
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/24/2013

Hello,

ok Interesting but  after checking, I don't allow the system to go to sleep mode by itself (the disk shouldn't hibernate).

I keep the power option (advanced config for disk) : stop the disk after "never"

At least, the system SSD and the other HDD (not "system" but with pagefile.sys) don't disseapear. The issue might be here???

I haven't tried 13.8 drivers. Only back to 13.4 for AHCI and I am fine.

Thanks:

btw, I am using

http://www.elpamsoft.com/?p=SSD-Tweaker

Best regards,

Guillaume

 10/23/2013 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dessa
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/22/2013

yeah 13.8 was probably a typo, i don't even renember what drivers i used last so it were probably 13.4 as well.

i have looked at the readme of the driver (which hides itself pretty sucessfully btw.) and seen this:

Change default value for AHCI Link Power Management in Balanced power plan as HIPM+DIPM

im guessing that is what breaks our systems here, i have no idea what was used before, maybe it was only DIPM, i can try that later.

im not even using a SSD but the drive with the pagefile never hibernates as well so will be never affected by the LPM i *think*.

 10/23/2013 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 329
Joined: 11/27/2012

With an SSD you should disable hibernate.  Run this from an admin command prompt:

 

powercfg.exe -h off

 

Also make sure UAC is disabled before doing this.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 10/23/2013 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

Originally posted by: wildcat_paris Hello,

 

Graphics Card 1 PNY NVIDIA 660Ti

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History 13.4, tested 13.9

Why are you using amd driver for Nvidia card ? is that a typo or something ?



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

 10/23/2013 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12470
Joined: 04/17/2008

Just to chime in, there is NO difference between AMDAHCI.sys and MSAHCI.sys in terms of performance, so I would recommend going back to the Microsoft provided driver. However looking at the reviews for that SSD, I see quite a number of people having issues.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/23/2013 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wildcat_paris
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/24/2013

Originally posted by: Dessa yeah 13.8 was probably a typo, i don't even renember what drivers i used last so it were probably 13.4 as well.

i have looked at the readme of the driver (which hides itself pretty sucessfully btw.) and seen this:

Change default value for AHCI Link Power Management in Balanced power plan as HIPM+DIPM

im guessing that is what breaks our systems here, i have no idea what was used before, maybe it was only DIPM, i can try that later.

im not even using a SSD but the drive with the pagefile never hibernates as well so will be never affected by the LPM i *think*.

Interesting idea... so let me look at

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/177819-ahci-link-power-management-enable-hipm-dipm.html

 

 10/23/2013 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wildcat_paris
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/24/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion Just to chime in, there is NO difference between AMDAHCI.sys and MSAHCI.sys in terms of performance, so I would recommend going back to the Microsoft provided driver. However looking at the reviews for that SSD, I see quite a number of people having issues.

Originally posted by: stargaz3rr
Originally posted by: wildcat_paris Hello,

 

Graphics Card 1 PNY NVIDIA 660Ti

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History 13.4, tested 13.9

Why are you using amd driver for Nvidia card ? is that a typo or something ?

AMD also makes chipsets with drivers including SATA drivers and the AMD driver makes little difference with MS drivers but still...

 

 10/23/2013 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wildcat_paris
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/24/2013

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer With an SSD you should disable hibernate.  Run this from an admin command prompt:

 

 

 

powercfg.exe -h off

 

 

 

Also make sure UAC is disabled before doing this.

 

 

 

QB

 

I guess I have already done this one but thanks, good to repeat for others thanks

 

 10/23/2013 06:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wildcat_paris
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/24/2013

Thanks you all

 10/24/2013 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wildcat_paris
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/24/2013

Originally posted by: wildcat_paris
Originally posted by: Dessa yeah 13.8 was probably a typo, i don't even renember what drivers i used last so it were probably 13.4 as well.

 

i have looked at the readme of the driver (which hides itself pretty sucessfully btw.) and seen this:

 

Change default value for AHCI Link Power Management in Balanced power plan as HIPM+DIPM

 

im guessing that is what breaks our systems here, i have no idea what was used before, maybe it was only DIPM, i can try that later.

 

im not even using a SSD but the drive with the pagefile never hibernates as well so will be never affected by the LPM i *think*.

 

 

Interesting idea... so let me look at

 

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/177819-ahci-link-power-management-enable-hipm-dipm.html

 

 

 

Script which I made me a disaster I add to boot from Win7 CD and restore my latest backup.

I have set the lower power consumption by mistake... I was too tired then installed AMD SATA 13.9 drivers... reboot and I got a partly broken system... with Kingston SSD dissapearing and Win7 doing disk check up

I will try only "Active" mode then later retry the 13.9 driver (or later driver) when I have spare time.

Thanks,

Kind regards,

Guillaume

 

 

 

 

Statistics
85406 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.