Topic Title: more PCIe lanes
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/19/2013 09:00 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/19/2013 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010

right now the AMD 990FX can do x16 x16 and that is it

how about more lanes for another x16 slot?

that and maybe more L3 cache on the CPU to boost performance

Windows 8.1 recognized my rig fine, no need for the support DVD at all.

I did install the monitoring software so I could watch my PSU with a load for sagging. None noted even with 2 GTX 260s drawing 200W each.

 



-------------------------

 10/19/2013 12:08 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12207
Joined: 04/17/2008

PCIe 3.0 makes more lanes unnecessary.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/19/2013 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MisterEd
Nerfed

Posts: 60
Joined: 10/10/2012

Originally posted by: Vegan right now the AMD 990FX can do x16 x16 and that is it
how about more lanes for another x16 slot?
that and maybe more L3 cache on the CPU to boost performance

The specs for the AMD 990FX chipset say it supports PCI Express 2.0. It is limited to about 38 lanes. These can be divided up into combinations of x1, x4 and x16 lanes. Note a x16 slot takes up 16 lanes.

The AMD 990FX chipset supports the following configurations for multiple graphic cards:
1 card: 1 at x16
2 cards  (SLI or CrossFire): 2 at x16
3 cards (SLI): 1 at x16 & 2 at x8
4 cards(SLI or CrossFire): 4 at x8
Note all slots are PCIe 2.0

Newer Intel chipsets do support PCIe 3.0 that have similar reductions in speed as the AMD 990FX. Theoretically PCIe 3.0 is twice as fast as PCIe 2.0 but may not be in real world use.

ASUS did come out with a board with the AMD 990FX chipset that had PCIe 3.0 support. It was the Sabertooth 990FX/GEN3 R2.0. It was an updated version of their Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 board that only had PCIe 2.0 support. Unfortunately there must have been problems with the new board since it has been discontinued. You can still get the original Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 board.

Some motherboards with AMD Socket FM2+ chipsets support PCIe 3.0. For example the ASRock FM2A88X Extreme6+ supports PCIe 3.0. The configurations for multiple graphic cards are:
1 card: x16
2 cards (CrossFire): 2 at x8
3 cards (CrossFire): 2 at x8 & 1 at x4
Note the x8 & x16 slots are PCIe 3.0. The x4 slot is PCIe 2.0
==================================================
Specs for PCIe 2.0
Bandwidth per lane = 500 MB/s
16x connector has bandwidth of 8 GB/s (500 MB/s x 16)
--------------------------------------------------
Specs for PCIe 3.0
Bandwidth per lane = 1000 MB/s
16x connector has bandwidth of 16 GB/s (1000 MB/s x 16)
==================================================

How much L3 cache a CPU has is a tradeoff. AMD had to weigh the benefits of more L3 cache against the additional cost for it. For the price point they were probably aiming at they were limited in how much L3 cache the CPU could have.



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Maxtor 200GB/250GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit



Edited: 10/19/2013 at 05:57 PM by MisterEd
 10/19/2013 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: black_zion PCIe 3.0 makes more lanes unnecessary.

 

can you post a GPU-Z shot of your video card in the thread, use the free hosting they offer

goven the 990fx chipset is now aging maybe it is time for a new design with more lanes to support 3-way rigs with insane bandwidth

x 16 x16 x16 with PCIe 3.0 or even PCIe 4.0 which is now being finalized

 



-------------------------

 10/19/2013 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

More lanes means more pins and wires, and more routing of those wires through the various layers of the PCB.  That all adds up to more expensive boards.  If you're going to pay for three or four high end video cards to go with it, then you probably don't care, but that puts you in the minority.

And seriously dude... shrink your sig.  Half the thread is filled up with veggie p0rn.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 10/19/2013 10:16 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12207
Joined: 04/17/2008




-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/20/2013 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: Mime More lanes means more pins and wires, and more routing of those wires through the various layers of the PCB.  That all adds up to more expensive boards.  If you're going to pay for three or four high end video cards to go with it, then you probably don't care, but that puts you in the minority.

 

And seriously dude... shrink your sig.  Half the thread is filled up with veggie p0rn.

 

After a good laugh, I figured sooner or later someone would react to the signature.

I am thinking of changing it and makign the text bigger to make it more readable when shrunk on some forums (not here)

 



-------------------------

 10/20/2013 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

If fusetalk was capable, I'm thinkin it would probably be auto-shrunk here also... :-)



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.



Edited: 10/21/2013 at 12:42 AM by Mime
 10/21/2013 09:09 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12207
Joined: 04/17/2008

The good thing about such rotten software though is most of the time spambot's posts aren't recognized and remain as unformatted text.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/21/2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010

I have used phpBB in the past, security was a real problem but solutions have been found to keep the mechanized spammers away

 



-------------------------

 10/24/2013 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010



-------------------------

 10/24/2013 09:04 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12207
Joined: 04/17/2008

I've got a Sabertooth Gen3 R2 which has PCIe 3.0 capability, you do not.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/25/2013 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010

I think I would perfer a new chipset, done on the 28nm line so it does not eat a lot of power and provide gamers with 8 slots all x16 so they can plug in whatever (8 slots for the 4-way rigs using EATX boards and chassis)

I like all slots to be x16, so any arrangement can be used as desired

 

 



-------------------------

Statistics
84175 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.