Topic Title: AHCI Driver and CPU Load
Topic Summary: System interrupts
Created On: 04/27/2014 02:45 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/27/2014 02:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

After installing 14.4 AHCI Driver I noticed at Task Manager that I had almost 20% of CPU load and that load were used by the element named "System interrupts". Restarting my PC did nothing. Then I search at google and some people claimed that an AHCI device was causing that. The only thing that I had installed was that driver so I reinstalled via Device Manager the 13.12 AHCI driver and now "System interrupts" load is at 0.1%

Check if this happens to you too, if it does then reinstall 13.12 AHCI driver.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Edited: 04/27/2014 at 04:27 AM by el_arantis
 05/06/2014 07:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris_c
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/04/2014

How exactly do you reinstalll the 13.12 driver?  On my notebook, I upgraded from windows 7 to 8 while 14.4 AHCI driver was isntalled, and the "roll back driver" button is grayed out because there never was a previous driver as far as windows 8 can tell.  When I "uninstall driver", it reinstalls again when it boots up.  When I "uninstall driver and delete all driver files"- windows 8 has a problem starting up and must be restored to before that point in time with System Restore. 

So the big question is, how exactly do you reinstall the 13.12 driver, step by step??  Any help would be appreciated.

 05/06/2014 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

-Go to Device Manager

-Double Click on "IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers"

-Double Click on "AMD SATA Controller"

-Go to "Driver" tab and "click Update Driver"

-Click "Browse my computer for driver software"

-Click "Browse" and select the root folder where your SB driver has been extracted

-Τιck box "Include subfolders"

-Click "Next"

That's it. Do you have increased CPU load using 14.4 SB?

 

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 05/06/2014 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris_c
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/04/2014

Thanks el_arantis. With those steps I was able to install the 13.10 AHCI driver, and then try the 14.04 driver.  With both of them, I have 35% CPU load in System (DPC and Interrupts).  So now I'm not sure what to try !

 

 05/06/2014 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris_c
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/04/2014

I solved the problem of very high Interrupts making this notebook lag terribly!!!!!  For anyone else who has this problem.... this is what I did.  I installed the AMD SATA dated April 2010. I believe it's version 1.2 series.

 05/06/2014 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Try 13.12 Driver. Put that link to a download manager http://www2.ati.com/drivers/13-12_win7_win8_32-64_sb.exe

 

I read that AMD re-uploaded the 14.4 SB Driver, http://www.guru3d.com/news_story/amd_cancels_and_reposts_amd_catalyst_14_4_whql_driver.html I do not know if they fixed the bug. I will try it and I will tell you. For now 13.12 works fine for me.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 06/15/2014 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TairikuOkami
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/15/2014

Just reporting, that the issue still exists. I have Lenovo E525 and Windows 8 x64. I have reverted back to Windows default driver 1.2.1.292 from 2011. I wish AMD would have a reporting form for chipset issues as well otherwise they will never fix it. Now it takes "only" about 5%, 10% at heavy HDD load, still better than 30% though.

 

http://www.ulozisko.sk/obrazky/683371/capture_06152014_173834.jpg



Edited: 06/15/2014 at 12:05 PM by TairikuOkami
Statistics
84333 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.