Topic Title: PCI-E v3.0 Support
Topic Summary: Does OR Which Chipset?
Created On: 06/08/2014 08:09 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/08/2014 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
assemblerhead
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/08/2014

After reading the chipset info on AMDs main site ...

I am left with the impression that NO motherboard chipsets produced by ( AMD / ATI ) support PCI-E v3.0.

Am I wrong?

If so, which one?

 

Asus made one motherboard with AMD / ATI & PCI-E v3.0. But I cannot find it in stock anywhere.

( Note : the newer video cards ATI / Nvidia all are made for PCI-E v3.0 )

 06/08/2014 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

No AMD chipset supports PCIe 3.0 because there has been no substantially new chipset since the 700 series back in 2007. Supposedly the next socket change will bring a unified socket and PCIe 3.0, though not even dual 295x2 or Titan Blacks can saturate the PCIe 2.0 bus at x16.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/09/2014 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4026
Joined: 01/27/2008

The FM2+ chipset A88X supports PCI-e v3.0 (with the right processor)



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 06/10/2014 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
assemblerhead
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/08/2014

Thanks for replies.

 

So I can assume that going PCI-E v3.0 will require at least a replacement of ( motherboard / CPU / Memory ).

I currently have Phenom II x4 980, 8Gig RAM, RD790 Chipset.

Rats, there went the gradual upgrade plan.

 though not even dual 295x2 or Titan Blacks can saturate the PCIe 2.0 bus at x16.

Unless y'all are saying that a newer video card can NOT overload the PCI-E v2.0 bus?

 06/10/2014 01:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

PCIe 3.0 and upcoming 4.0 is more of a way to cut costs rather than because the speed is needed. What is done now with 16 PCIe lanes 2.0 can be done with 8 PCIe lanes 3.0, and will soon (in the next couple of years) only take 4 PCIe lanes 4.0. Of course there are additional items in the PCIe 3.0 spec which relate to power and other things, but as it is PCIe 2.x x16 has the required speed.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/10/2014 02:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
assemblerhead
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/08/2014

Thanks for the info.

 

That does put a different light on it.

Statistics
85525 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.