Topic Title: Notebook not using the dedicated GPU
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/14/2012 08:42 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/14/2012 08:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
strajo
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/14/2012

Hi, I bought the ASUS K53TK-SX094 which features an A6-3420 APU and a Radeon HD7670m and both of them are supposed to work together in Dual Graphics mode when running demanding applications, or well... games

First I used the ASUS provided drivers that came on a DVD and when I right clicked the desktop I could acces Configure Dual Graphics, and from there I would set a game`s .exe to use High Performance mode. However, whenever I exited the game ( very dissapointed, because it didn`t work as it) it would always prompt me to set the mode for the .exe. So it seemed that it never saved the configuration and the notebook always used the IGP and the performance was not very good.

Then I tried installing the drivers from the AMD website, it still doesn`t use the discrete GPU but there some new "issues" occuring. When I right click the desktop and select Configure Dual Graphics this windows pops up

http://www.dodaj.rs/f/3A/rg/1PacXBe8/wtf.jpg

This has nothing to do with dual graphics, and I can`t find the configurator anywhere in the Vision control center. Also, when I right click the icon in my system tray i get this

http://www.dodaj.rs/f/3j/nE/300xWsjK/amddg.jpg

However, in the Device Manager i could see the HD7670m listed there. I tried turning off Dual Graphics in hope that only the dedicated GPU would work, but nothing happened.

Does anyone have any idea what should I do, it`s a two day old laptop and I think i just might return it if the Asus phone line doesn`t offer any help, which I doubt it will.

Any sort of insight on this issue is much appreciated



Edited: 08/14/2012 at 10:27 PM by strajo
 08/14/2012 10:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

You need to lower the picture size...no one can post. You need to use drivers from Asus.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/14/2012 10:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
strajo
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/14/2012

Sorry about the pictures, i didn`t notice it screwed up the template... well a friend of mine has the K53TK-SX107 model, the only difference between his and mine is the hard drive. He had issues with the Asus drivers and is currently using the ones he got from AMD.com, I tried deleting the drivers with Driver Fusion from Safe mode, and when I reinstalled the drivers (from AMD.com) it finished installing fine but it CCC says that there is no AMD hardware present... I`ll try doing the same with the ASUS drivers. Ah, so much trouble from this. Thanks for the reply

 08/14/2012 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

I tried a google search but this must be a foriegn model...no english. It is possible that you can go into the bios and select the discreet as your primary...you might check and see. Just a thought.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/15/2012 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12507
Joined: 04/17/2008

If the 12.7 Beta does not install (12.6 WHQL does not support Mobility Radeon HD 7000 series cards) then you will have to talk to ASUS, AMD provides only a generic driver which may cause a decreased user experience.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/15/2012 09:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
strajo
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/14/2012

I did a full driver cleanup with Driver Sweeper and CCleaner, and installed the ASUS drivers and it worked ! Thank You guys... a friend of mine is using the AMD drivers that`s why i though I should use them, and I got the 12.6, that was the problem I guess.

Thanks again, off to Tamriel  

 08/15/2012 09:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Thanks for posting your solution. It will help another user some day. Cheers



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
85545 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.