Topic Title: Do AMD APU Notebooks have an AMD-Vi/ IOMMU Capability?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/15/2012 02:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/15/2012 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ascaris
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/15/2012

Hi all,

I want to make sure I understand something beofre I go ahead and buy an AMD equipped laptop. I want to know if any of the notebook mobile chipsets also support IOMMU for virtualization support. This is my number one priority when making a purchase as I would like to have a future proof fully virtualization capable machine. I would then seek out a dual graphics laptop and passthrough one of the gpus to a vm. 

 

Also if its is supported, do both gpu cards appear as separate PCI devices or do they appear as only one?

 

OEM product specifications are minimal at best and don't really say much about any chipset features. If the feature is fully supported, then what is left is to exclude manufacturers on the basis of whether they support it into the BIOS.

 09/16/2012 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ascaris
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/15/2012

Bump.

I don't know who else to ask about this topic. If you know who I can contact for this info let me know. Is there a specific subforum visited by AMD reps that I can get in touch with? If so please move my thread there if not then, I'll just cross post this message. Thanks.

 09/16/2012 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

This is a user to user forum. Try here > http://emailcustomercare.amd.com/

..or simply use google..it is your friend. > http://www.google.com/search?q=amd+mobility+chipset+support+IOMMU+%3F&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-Address&ie=&oe=



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 09/16/2012 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13079
Joined: 04/17/2008

Even if it is supported, it has to be enabled in BIOS. But looking at the comparison of AMD chipsets on Wikipedia, none of the FCH's list IOMMU as a feature, only AMD 890 and 990 series chipsets

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
88978 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.