Topic Title: AMD Radeon 6770m problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/23/2012 05:23 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/23/2012 05:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yosecret
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/23/2012

Since yesterday my graphics card is underperforming. I started Just Cause 2, and my highest framerate was 20fps. But 3 days ago i had played it on 80 fps... So i tryed other games, and also there the framerates are very, very low. I searched on the forums and google, but all posible solutions didn't work. I have restore my system, reinstall Windows, all drivers and still graphic performance is very bad. 

So i downloaded MSI Afterburner and TechPowerUp GPU-Z to see if the problem is something with my clock speeds, and yes it is.

Screenshot 

My GPU clock is now 100 Mhz, and also Default clock is set at 100 Mhz, before this problem it was 725 Mhz.... 

I din't do anything related to overclocking so that can't be the problem. Now, i have tryed to overclock it back to it default fabric speed, but it has no results....

To solve the problem, I think i have to get the clock speed back to 725, maybe this is not the problem. I'm don't know very much about overclocking and all the things that come with it.

Some information about my system:

Graphics Card
- AMD Radeon HD 6770m 2GB vRam
- Default clock is  725 clock and 800 memory, now it is 100 clock and 41 memory.

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Latest driver i have installed is 

AMD High-Definition Graphics Driver ?
2011-11-18 , Version:8.882.2.3000, 338.98M

 (HP doesn't give any updates)

Operating System
- 64 bit Windows Home Premium, with all updates.
- Before problem I was running same OS, same settings same drivers.

Issue Details
- FPS is ver, very low in every game i've tryed. Can't fix it.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
- HP Pavilioin DV6 6b-41ed, 15,6 inch notebook.

Power Supply

- HP brick that came with laptop, output 120W, 18,5V - 6,5A.
- Link to HP page of laptop: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en&tmp_geoLoc=true&product=5191481 

Applications and Games

- In every game I have the problem, Just Cause 2, Battlefield 3, Call of Duty mw3.
- All games uo-to-date (Steam), always played the games above 50 fps, no problem, now all <30 fps

CPU Details
- Intel Core I7, 2,2 Ghz, up to 3,1 Ghz
- No overlock.

Motherboard BIOS Version

HP Notebook System BIOS Update ?
2012-05-28 , Version:F.19, 7.73M

System Memory Type & Amount

- 8GB Ram, not changed anything in hardware.

Page with ALL specs

I hope someone can help me, this is for now all the information i have.

 



-------------------------

HP Pavilion DV6-6b41ed
Intel Core I7 2,2 Ghz - 3,1 Ghz
AMD Radeon HD 6770m - 2GB vRam
Windows Home Premium 64bit - 8GB Ram
-
All drivers up-to-date

 09/23/2012 09:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1001
Joined: 11/22/2010

A quick google resulted that many laptop owners with amd gpu's have that issue. Try disabling/re-enabling PowerPlay (if your gpu supports this feature). Also make sure your power settings are set to 'high performance' and if still nothing changes force your original clocks using amd overdrive or any other overclocking software (like msi afterburner) to frequencies which should be 725Mhz core and 800Mhz memory and the issue may fix itself.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 09/23/2012 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yosecret
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/23/2012

I did disable and re-enable PowerPlay, no result. My power settings are always on high performance, I also checked the advance options tab in the settings. When i try to force my original clock speeds, TechPowerUp GPU-Z show me that the clock speeds are back to original. But when I play a game, the fps is still <20...



-------------------------

HP Pavilion DV6-6b41ed
Intel Core I7 2,2 Ghz - 3,1 Ghz
AMD Radeon HD 6770m - 2GB vRam
Windows Home Premium 64bit - 8GB Ram
-
All drivers up-to-date

 09/23/2012 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7067
Joined: 11/13/2009

You might try these drivers. Uninstall the old ones and run Driver Fusion first

http://benchmark3d.com/amd-catalyst-9-001-september-4



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 09/24/2012 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yosecret
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/23/2012

Wow, that is the first drivers that's not from HP and don't give any errors during install. After install and reboot, my GPU-Z displays my clock speed as 725 Mhz, but after 3 seconds it is 100 Mhz again. I think my videocard is downclocking itself, (if thats possible).



-------------------------

HP Pavilion DV6-6b41ed
Intel Core I7 2,2 Ghz - 3,1 Ghz
AMD Radeon HD 6770m - 2GB vRam
Windows Home Premium 64bit - 8GB Ram
-
All drivers up-to-date

Statistics
84269 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.