Topic Title: Desperately need help with Catalyst drivers!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/24/2012 12:49 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/24/2012 12:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrouzzzerSnake
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/24/2012

I just picked a whole bouquet of oopsie-daiseys

 

I also am totally new to PC Gaming

 

I just purchased a laptop with an A10-4600M + 7670M (7660G + 7670M Dual Graphics, which I'm sure you guys already know, but I'm trying to be precise).

 

The general concensus of what I could find out about the graphics situation was that everything was miles better if I updated the graphics drivers to 12.8 (3) with embedded Catalyst 12.9.

 

So I downloaded those ^^^, and here's what happened.

 

1.  First I started with auto-detect drivers from the AMD site.  Everytime I ran it, it said something like "OS and drivers could not be detected" (or nothing at all happened)

2.  I installed 12-8_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc ---> here's where it went bad.  During installation, I did not read that the display would flicker or cut out.  After two minutes of nothing happening, I shut it down hard (DARN!)

3.  Upon reboot, I installed 12-8_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc correctly. (AMD Catalyst Display Driver)

4.  I applied amd_catalyst_12.8_cap3 (12.8 (3) profile)

5.  I installed 9.00-120815a-146736C-EDG_Direct (Embedded Catalyst 12.9)

6.  I ran the verification tool catalyst_mobility_64-bit_util and it told me "AMD Catalyst Mobie cannot be downloaded because of incompatible hardware/software on my PC"

 

Heres where I am --->

Display Adapter #1 AMD Radeon HD 7600M Series is Driver version 8.982.0.0

 

Display Adapter # 2 AMD Radeon HD 7660G + 7600M (why does it say 7600M when it should be 7670M?) is Driver version 9.0.0.0

 

What have I done?  Where should I be?  What can I do?

 

 

 09/24/2012 08:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

OK, here's what's wrong :

1. That means it couldn't detect the machine correctly = no driver installation due to it being incompatible with AMDs drivers  - that's the whole point of the auto detect utility.

2. You installed incompatible drivers after ignoring the auto detection tool message.

3. - 5. Whilst the drivers may get a basic install, everything needed to correctly intitialise and make them work correctly may not due to proprietary components in the laptop - as per the auto detect utility usage read me notes.

6. Message = due to drivers needed for laptop to run correctly are not the generic AMD ones. See Mobility release notes / Mobility webpage.

Resolution - uninstall ALL instances of AMD drivers / folders / .inf files / registry entries of currently installed incompatible drivers and download and install the drivers as supplied on the laptop manufacturer's website.

Oh, if it isn't clear - a HD76xx VGA card or IGP is part of the HD7600 series of GPUs .. same as say a HD7630 would be, or a HD7690 etc .. they all start with HD76xx ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/24/2012 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

Solution: Use System Restore to go back before you started this mess and LEAVE IT ALONE!

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/24/2012 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrouzzzerSnake
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/24/2012

There were several users who referenced the Catalyst 12.8 (3) setup and 12.9 updates (stating how great they were), both on youtube and the product reviews on futureshop for this product, so how could I properly install them?



Edited: 09/24/2012 at 01:14 PM by TrouzzzerSnake
 09/24/2012 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7177
Joined: 11/13/2009

The laptop forum has many posts like this:

http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&flcache=763051&entercat=y

and links to stuff like this http://benchmark3d.com/amd-catalyst-9-001-september-4



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 09/24/2012 at 01:05 PM by stumped
 09/24/2012 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrouzzzerSnake
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/24/2012

I definitely messed up though, because I just put my copy of Dirt3 on here, and the program prepares to launch, then the screen goes black for two seconds, and then it reverts to the desktop with nothing having happened

 09/24/2012 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

Originally posted by: TrouzzzerSnake I have gone to the Samsung website and they have no driver support though :S

 

 

nothing but manuals and .pdf files for the Samsung NP355V4-S01CA

 

Didn't look too hard then did you ? I found this page in 5 seconds ..

http://www.samsung.com/ca/support/model/NP355V4C-S01CA-downloads

.. all the drivers for that machine are readily available from the link on the left, titled DRIVER ...



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/24/2012 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrouzzzerSnake
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/24/2012

lol... yeah... I realized I had looked at that same page last night before going to bed - sorry about that Fretboard

So when I uninstall everything, should I just remove all AMD associated programs from add/remove programs... or should I do a system restore as another user mentioned?

I just want to go back to a time when everything worked at this point, and then try again properly to update the drivers 

 09/24/2012 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

I'd go for a system restore and put it back to whatever the factory defaults were .. and then cross-reference the installed VGA driver version with the one on the driver page, if it's a newer version of the driver on the download page then you can install that one



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/24/2012 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrouzzzerSnake
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/24/2012

Well, tonight I'm attempting this!  Thankya very much Fretboard and others - what your last entry described is my backup plan

lol... I have to go big or go home!  I want to see what all this fuss is about!

 

Some fellas on the Tom's Hardware forums recommended this setup

 

--------------------------------------------------------

I have the same setup and it did took me awhile to get the best settings. Here is what I did. 

Software: 
Catalyst 12.8 
Catlayst 12.9 embedded 
CAP 12.8 3 

1. Uninstall All the previous AMD/ATI drivers. 
http://www.overclock.net/t/988215/ [...] hics-cards 


You will lose USB 3.0 function at this point. 

2. restart. 

3. Install Catalys 12.8 - Select ****custom. Install everything except the Control panel (last option). 

4. Restart. 

5. Install Catalyst 12.9 embedded - overwrite everything with the control panel 

You should gain USB 3.0 back 

6.restart 

7. Install 12.8 CAP 3 

8. restart 

Hope it works for you. It worked for me.

--------------------------------------------------------

I'm going to try it and hope for the best.  I can't load any games right now without them crashing immediately... so here goes nothing!!!  If all else fails, I would still be able to restore, right?  right...?  RIGHT!?

 

lol... day three of my new laptop and I have already blown it up

 

what else could possibly go wrong ?

Statistics
84725 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.