Topic Title: Windows 8 / HD 6650M & Mobility 4200
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/25/2012 11:52 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/25/2012 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FranK8211
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/25/2012

Hi,

I recently install Windows 8 on my HP DV6-6040ca via dreamspark. Out of the box my Mobility 4200 worked fine but my 6650M having the generic Code 10 error. I tried several version of catalyst and nothing worked well having BSoD most of the time. I also tried desactivating my 4200 then installing catalyst and my 6650M wasn't showing code 10 anymore but I had a 1024 resolution by default (supose to have 1368) and having 3 fps in WoW at low (compare to 20-30 with the 4200 and 60+ in win7 with the 6650m).

I don't really care to have only my 6650M.

 

Thank you

 

FranK

 

edit: here is my full spec (the product name isn't good but the spec is) http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02789983&cc=ca&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5096671&tmp_track_link=ot_search

 

ps: English isn't my main language so excuse my mistake



Edited: 09/25/2012 at 12:33 PM by FranK8211
 09/25/2012 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7027
Joined: 11/13/2009

Check the laptop forum > http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&flcache=2077374&entercat=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 09/25/2012 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FranK8211
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/25/2012

Thanks for the redirect in the good section stumped.

 

Still having my problem..

 09/25/2012 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

There are only drivers for Windows 7 available for that laptop, if HP had W8 drivers for it, then they'd have posted them. You'll have to talk to HP's tech support if you want W8 to run without problems on that laptop.

Ca va ou il va falloir 1 traduc ?



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/25/2012 02:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FranK8211
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/25/2012

haha non ça va aller Merci Je vais donc me tourner vers HP.

 

If anyone have another solution I can try it too.

 09/25/2012 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

 

Et ben, tu puisse essayer les pilotes de chez DNA pour voir, mais ilya 1 truc qu'il faut faire avant l'installation puisse que ses pilotes ne sont pas signées par MS .. pour moi c'etait 1 grosse prise de tete et elles n'ont pas reglée le bleme que j'avais ( autre chose que toi - 2iem GPU bloqué @ vitesse 3D 100% sous W7 avec les pilotes WHQL 12.4 et .6 ) .. mais p-e cela vaudrait le coup pour toi ..

S'lut du Pays De Galles au fait .. et non, chuis Gallois, pas Céfran ..

 

..

 

Well, you could try the DNA drivers I suppose, but you need to use a 3rd party utility to workaround the fact that they're unsigned drivers. Did my head in and they didn't resolve the messed up legacy drivers AMD issued which still has a 3D Clock bug and has been present in their drivers since 12.4 - which was why I tested those. Maybe they'll work for you, worth a shot .

Edited to include a basic English translation.

 





I understand it being English Language support only here ( or you'd have several sub-forums for different languages ), but surely thats for people asking for help in their language in the first instance and expecting people to know theirs ? Plus, it's much easier to communicate something in a native language than it is in English, as some things can't be linearly translated to make the same sense of a sentence etc ( I know, I did Linguistics at Uni ) .. Try explaining "No use crying over spilt milk" to someone where their turn of the same phrase is "You don't have to drink the sea"  and you have no common ground to work from ...

Or is this in fact a forum where no other language apart from English is accepted for anything ? That would seem very very bizarre to me if that were the case .. Resolve an issue in 2 posts or draw it out for weeks whilst the OP goes looking for a translator for each technical term etc ?

Anyhows, translation inserted just in case .. was only being friendly, as being greeted and explained things in one's own language makes a world of difference, especially in the Business world

 



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM



Edited: 09/25/2012 at 03:22 PM by fretboard
 09/25/2012 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Per the T&C, link below, please keep verbiage to the English language only.....thanks in advance!

Terms & Conditions

AMD Game Forum - Terms & Conditions

OFFICIAL TERMS OF USE

This is a user to user English language only Support Forum. Information or opinions contained in any posts are those solely of the user making the post and are in no way validated by, or the opinions of, AMD, including our moderators. Use of any information on this board is done so AT YOUR OWN RISK and all information is provided "AS IS" and without any warranty, express or implied. While we may at time respond to posts, AMD makes no warranties or claims regarding the validity of any information posted by users on this board.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

Statistics
84114 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.