Topic Title: APU Upgrade & compatability...
Topic Summary: Upgrading APU to a newer gen...
Created On: 10/05/2012 01:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/05/2012 01:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scooter_2478
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/29/2012

I have an Acer Aspire 5560-Sb609 which has a A6-3400M Radeon HD 6520G APU and I would like to upgrade if possible.The latest BIOS supports AMD Radeon HD 7670M Graphics.The A6 is a socket FS1 with Radeon 6520G graphics and im hopeing to upgrade to an A10.The big question is will the A10 be compatible because its a socket FS1r2 not socket FS1.Why would the system have updated BIOS compatible with Radeon 7670M which is built into the APU if the APU werent upgradable in my system? I contacted Acer and they told me the system had not been tested with any new APUs. Does anyone know if the A10 socket FS1r2 APU is compatible with socket FS1? I would like to upgrade so I can play skyrim and other games at max settings.

SYSTEM SPECS:

Acer Aspire 5560-Sb609

Windows 7 64-bit

Latest drivers installed

Latest BIOS installed

AMD APU A6-3400m with Radeon HD 6520G

15.6" HD LED Display

4GB DDR3

500GB HDD

 10/05/2012 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Really Acer would be your go-to on this.  The motherboard would need a BIOS update that includes support for the new A10 chips, so if they don't provide it, then it won't.....that is assuming that the new A10 FS1r2 socket type works with the FS1 socket type of your motherboard.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 10/05/2012 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scooter_2478
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/29/2012

I contacted Acer and they dont know.the latest BIOS supports Radeon HD 7670M.I dug around and found that socket FS1 APUs are Radeon 6000 series and the newer FS1r2 are Radeon 7000 series which the A10 lists under.Is the A10 FS1r2 socket backward compatible with FS1 socket like how the AM3 is backward compatible with AM2?

Statistics
84288 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.