Topic Title: No 'maintain aspect ratio option'!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/05/2012 10:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/05/2012 10:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liverlin
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/05/2012

I'm using 6480G/7400M dual laptop setup with external 1440x900 monitor. I want to run 800x600 game maintaining the aspect ratio (i.e. there should be black bars on the left and right sides only).

I'm using beta Catalyst 12.9. Aslo I tried current relase version. Yet both have only two options 1) Scale image to full panel size; 2) Use centered timings.

Where did the aspect ratio option gone?


Is there any way to workaround? (tweaking register etc.) for some games that is really essential!

 

UPDATED: added info as requested

Information from AMD VISION Engine Control center:

Driver Packaging Version    9.002-120928m-148226C-ATI
Catalyst Version    12.10
Provider    Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
2D Driver Version    8.01.01.1266
2D Driver File Path    /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0000
Direct3D Version    9.14.10.0926
OpenGL Version    6.14.10.11931
AMD VISION Engine Control Center Version    2012.0928.1532.26058

Graphics Card Manufacturer    Powered by AMD
Graphics Chipset    AMD Radeon(TM) HD 6480G
Device ID    9649
Vendor ID    1002
Subsystem ID    168C
Subsystem Vendor ID    103C
Graphics Bus Capability    PCI
Maximum Bus Setting    PCI
BIOS Version    012.043.000.014
BIOS Part Number    BR41014.bin
BIOS Date    2011/05/25
Memory Size    512 MB
Memory Type    DDR3
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s    10,7 GByte/s

Graphics Card Manufacturer    Powered by AMD
Graphics Chipset    AMD Radeon HD 6400M Series
Device ID    6760
Vendor ID    1002
Subsystem ID    168C
Subsystem Vendor ID    103C
Graphics Bus Capability    PCI Express
Maximum Bus Setting    PCI Express x8
BIOS Version    013.012.000.019
BIOS Part Number    BR40995.001
BIOS Date    2011/05/23
Memory Size    1024 MB
Memory Type    DDR3
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s    14,4 GByte/s

HP ProBook 4535s

Windows 7 x86-64

No overclocking was being done. Settings are default. Dual graphics is on.

Resolution set to native (1366x768)

 

Resolution below native

 

 10/05/2012 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

And using the drivers provided by the OEM?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/05/2012 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M3SS3NG3R
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/05/2012

Maintain aspect ratio has been bugging me since forever. I have tried OEM driver and multiple ATI reference drivers. It never works. It'e either grayed out under native resolution or immediately jumps back to full panel stretch when I select it and click on apply with no effect whatsoever after I switch to the lower resolution the application runs at.

It's not just us, either. I have traced this problem all the way back to 2010 when people were still running catalyst 11.X. TWO FRIGGING YEARS and ATI hasn't got the hint that something's broken. Most likely they are just incompetent. Whatever it is I'm not holding my breath on it anymore. Nowadays when I absolutely need my 4:3 fix I connect my laptop to an external monitor with it's own image scaler. One thing's for sure. I'm getting nVidia next.

 

----------

Acer Aspire-5250 with E-350 APU

 10/05/2012 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liverlin
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/05/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion And using the drivers provided by the OEM?


Tried that before also. Exactly the same result.

 10/05/2012 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liverlin
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/05/2012

2 M3SS3NG3R

Agree, lack of this basic feature can be a real deal breaker.

For now I would be glad even of temporary fix. But I can't got it working in any way.

 

 10/07/2012 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r4incs
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/07/2012

I have exactly the same problem with HP6465b (APU with Radeon HD 6520G). I am well aware this feature is "buggy" and on a desktop with Radeon I have to switch to non-native resoluton to change GPU scaling option - however on my laptop, when doing so, I have only two options available: "Full Screen" or "Centered", no "Maintain Aspect Ratio".

It's just unbelievable. My laptop is 14 inch with high-res 1600x900 display, so older 4:3 games with max 1024x768 resolution are pretty much unplayable - I have option to stretch screen (everything is disorted) or play in 15x15 cm little "window" in a center of the screen, with black borders everywhere.

It just doesn't make any sense! My old laptop with Radeon HD 3200 could do it, why new one can't!

If you are interested, you can try changing reg values mentioned in here:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itproui/thread/85d77ff8-738a-4e1d-aff2-f837894d6194

but I had no success.

 11/01/2012 11:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

liverlin, I'd like to offer any assistance that I may with your issue.  Can you review the sticky, and provide all the relevant information that you can.  Make/Model of laptop, OS, current driver version installed, etc..

If you could take a screenshot of section in CCC with the options, that would help too.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/01/2012 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liverlin
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/05/2012

Marc,

I've added above all you requested. Tell me if you need something more. Hope we will work this issue out.

 11/01/2012 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

I can't see the pictures. I think firewalls here are blocking the links.  Are you able to embed the screen captures into the post itself?

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/01/2012 01:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liverlin
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/05/2012

I can't embed the images - it's not working for me.

Here try link to dropbox folder: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ww26rk148ww4u77/iKnSF2SoiW#/

Statistics
84905 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.