Topic Title: Lack of AMD Radeon HD 7690m driver support.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/09/2012 06:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/09/2012 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eon264
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/09/2012

Hiya, I might not be doing this right but this section seems to do with driver errors, where my error is a lack of a driver.

I have windows seven 64-bit (SP1) and an AMD Radeon HD 7690m video card as well as an AMD Radeon HD 6620G with switchable graphics. The 6620G is fine.

My driver version for my 7690 is 8.900.7.1000, the driver date is 28/09/2011.

I've crawled all over HP's driver section (I have a pavilion dv6) as well as AMD's and I haven't found any updates for my card, I've also used both auto-updaters. HP's said mine was fine, AMD's tried to give me a driver for a 66xx series card (not my 6620, it updated my 7690 to a 66xx card's driver)

I normally wouldn't care too much, it's just that it's affecting my games. Crysis has flickering scenery and my online games are getting progressively choppier as they're updated. When I checked the crysis forums the overwhelming answer was to update the videocard drivers and that fixed the problem for almost everyone, I've tried the other solutions with zero results. My online game forums don't even mention the problem I'm having and so far no-one's been able to help me (aside from suggesting I update my driver).

So, I guess my question is; Is the 66xx card driver what I'm supposed to have and, if not, what should I do? Is there a driver update in the near future?

PS: I checked the driver package that was available on AMD (12.8 I believe) and it's not compatible with switchable graphics.

PSS: I've called HP and they say it's not their fault/problem, AMD has to make the drivers because they manufacture the card, the only driver they have is the one I have. 

 10/09/2012 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Eon264 PSS: I've called HP and they say it's not their fault/problem, AMD has to make the drivers because they manufacture the card, the only driver they have is the one I have. 

 

They were lying. It's up to them to provide drivers, not AMD.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/09/2012 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7843
Joined: 11/13/2009

Your post is not clear at all. If you have switchable graphics, try the leshcat drivers...search till you find what configuration you have, ie AMD/AMD or AMD/Intel. If you have AMD/Intel, then these are the latest >Leshcat modded drivers > http://leshcatlabs.net/index.php/2012/09/catalyst-12-9-sep4-unifl-public-testing-for-atiintel-graphics/

 

http://www.google.com/search?q=leshcat+12.8&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-SearchBox&ie=&oe=



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******



Edited: 10/09/2012 at 08:01 PM by stumped
 10/09/2012 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 723
Joined: 08/28/2012

Eon264, Eydee is correct.  The laptop manufacturer is responsible for providing you with the proper driver package for your laptop's graphics, which they have.  That does not mean that it won't be bug-free though.  I do not know if HP is legally obligated to keep up with providing updated drivers or not though and if they are how often.  You may wish to contact a customer service rep instead of a support rep as they can be a little hard to work with.

Alternatively, you can always try reporting it to AMD to see what they have to say, link below, but I highly doubt that they will be able to assist you very much.

Cheers!

**STICKY** | AMD ISSUE REPORTING FORM
Reproducible issues can be reported here.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

Statistics
88813 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.