Topic Title: Amd mobility 4/5 series and widnows 8
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/28/2012 07:29 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/28/2012 07:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimos
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/28/2012

Hello i have an hp pavilion dv6 with a ati mobility radeon 4200 and 5000 series ( it switches from 4 to 5 series for games and in high performance mode)

I have upgraded to widnows 8 and for some reason only my 4200 card is being used it isnt increasing its performace in high power mode or for games,

I tried the drivers for the widnows 8 5000 card and also the 4000 series legacy drivers both didnt work an it still only uses the 4200 card which is uselss to me.

any ideas how i can make it use only the 5000 card and not the 4000

Time of this report: 10/28/2012, 11:21:02
       Machine name: JAMES
   Operating System: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit (6.2, Build 9200) (9200.win8_gdr.120926-1855)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
       System Model: HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook PC
               BIOS: Default System BIOS
          Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II P920 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~1.6GHz
             Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3834MB RAM
          Page File: 1736MB used, 5554MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
   User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
 System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
     DxDiag Version: 6.02.9200.16384 64bit Unicode


This is how the driver keeps appreaing

Display Devices
---------------
          Card name: Microsoft Basic Display Driver
       Manufacturer:
          Chip type:
           DAC type:
        Device Type: Display-Only Device
         Device Key: Enum\ROOT\BASICDISPLAY
     Display Memory: 256 MB
   Dedicated Memory: 0 MB
      Shared Memory: 256 MB
       Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (64Hz)
       Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor

 10/28/2012 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FibreFoX
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/28/2012

I have a similar issue.

I have a HP Pavilion g6-1025sg with ChipsatzAMD RS880M and following graphic cards:

ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series
and
AMD Radeon HD 6470M (which is installed as AMD Radeon HD 7400M Series )

The issue is: how do i use this graphic-cards in the way i used to use: switching from 4200 to 6470

only if i DEACTIVATE one of them i can use the other (to figure out it made me have a lot of useless hours to install 12.11beta4 and win8-stock-drivers and removing it).

Even if i would only have the 6470 one active i am NOT able to connect another monitor and extend my display (which is a mayor-issue for me when programming/doing graphic-stuff).

Hey AMD: DONT tell me just that "4xxx-series is dead"-crap, because i DONT WANT TO USE IT if not supported anymore and I could live with my more-powerfull graphics :O

 10/28/2012 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7457
Joined: 11/13/2009

There is a laptop forum...check there

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c03048333&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 10/28/2012 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FibreFoX
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/28/2012

Originally posted by: stumped There is a laptop forum...check there

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c03048333&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en

 

Where is there a forum? Its just "documentation" and tells NOTHING about the issues covered here. I think because its a driver-feature to switch graphics, its in amd's hand to give support to it.

 10/28/2012 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcin1147
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/28/2012

Hello! I have a HP G62-a35ew with HD4250/HD5470 GPU and I also can't install any drivers above 12.4. It's really sad that AMD doesn't give a ***** about customers. We can't use any modern Linux distro and Windows 8 on our systems only because your lazyness. ***** you AMD. My next GPU will be nVidia.

 10/28/2012 11:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FibreFoX
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/28/2012

Originally posted by: marcin1147 Hello! I have a HP G62-a35ew with HD4250/HD5470 GPU and I also can't install any drivers above 12.4. It's really sad that AMD doesn't give a ***** about customers. We can't use any modern Linux distro and Windows 8 on our systems only because your lazyness. ***** you AMD. My next GPU will be nVidia.

If AMD will give some switching-support a lot of customers really be nice about ther bought products again ... or at least make it possible to have different driver-versions parallel, in the end they are two different hardware-instances

 

plz  amd, show some of your nice side and give US (the customers) some possibility to use your products even with modern operating systems (is it too much to ask for?)

 10/28/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7457
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: FibreFoX
Originally posted by: stumped There is a laptop forum...check there

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c03048333&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en

 

 

Where is there a forum? Its just "documentation" and tells NOTHING about the issues covered here. I think because its a driver-feature to switch graphics, its in amd's hand to give support to it.

Is English your spoken language> http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&entercat=y

That other link is from HP...if you take the time to read.

From AMD Mobility drivers:

The following notebooks are not compatible with this tool:
Notebooks equipped with switchable graphics

 

Please read > http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/737-28041SupportforATIMobility.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 10/28/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcin1147
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/28/2012

Exacly. We just want to get our products working. Is this too much to ask for?

 10/28/2012 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7457
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: jimos Hello i have an hp pavilion dv6 with a ati mobility radeon 4200 and 5000 series ( it switches from 4 to 5 series for games and in high performance mode)

I have upgraded to widnows 8 and for some reason only my 4200 card is being used it isnt increasing its performace in high power mode or for games,

I tried the drivers for the widnows 8 5000 card and also the 4000 series legacy drivers both didnt work an it still only uses the 4200 card which is uselss to me.

any ideas how i can make it use only the 5000 card and not the 4000

Time of this report: 10/28/2012, 11:21:02        Machine name: JAMES    Operating System: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit (6.2, Build 9200) (9200.win8_gdr.120926-1855)            Language: English (Regional Setting: English) System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard        System Model: HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook PC                BIOS: Default System BIOS           Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II P920 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~1.6GHz              Memory: 4096MB RAM Available OS Memory: 3834MB RAM           Page File: 1736MB used, 5554MB available         Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS     DirectX Version: DirectX 11 DX Setup Parameters: Not found    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI  System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)     DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled      DxDiag Version: 6.02.9200.16384 64bit Unicode

This is how the driver keeps appreaing

Display Devices ---------------           Card name: Microsoft Basic Display Driver        Manufacturer:           Chip type:            DAC type:         Device Type: Display-Only Device          Device Key: Enum\ROOT\BASICDISPLAY      Display Memory: 256 MB    Dedicated Memory: 0 MB       Shared Memory: 256 MB        Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (64Hz)        Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor

Yes...read the link from HP on how to configure/install/update/etc. http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c03048333&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en Also note that there are several links within the article that address specific issues. Read especially the part about bios.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 10/28/2012 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcin1147
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/28/2012

@up I CAN'T DISABLE BY INTEGRATED GPU IN BIOS. AND I CAN'T USE MY GPU WITH DRIVERS ABOVE 12.4 BECAUSE OF ***** HD4000 SERIES DROP. CAN YOU UNDERSTAND NOW?

 10/28/2012 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7457
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: marcin1147 @up I CAN'T DISABLE BY INTEGRATED GPU IN BIOS. AND I CAN'T USE MY GPU WITH DRIVERS ABOVE 12.4 BECAUSE OF ***** HD4000 SERIES DROP. CAN YOU UNDERSTAND NOW?

 

Hey....nobodys talking to you. This is not your post. Quit try ing to hijack it. Start your own...or go pound sand, who cares.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

Statistics
87548 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.