Topic Title: CCC won't open in Windows 8" "There are currently no settings that can be configured using CCC"
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/28/2012 08:27 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/28/2012 08:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
offbeatbop
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/27/2012

System Specs:

Alienware M17X R4
AMD Radeon 7970M

i7 3610 2.3 GHz, (no overclocking)

Windows 8 64-bit


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Current - 9.2.0.0, from the Dell website.Tried - WHQL 12.10 for Windows 8 64-bit, from the AMD website



Issue Details
I tried installing the drivers from the AMD site using their system detection tool. I download and run it and get a message saying "AMD Catalyst Mobility cannot be downloaded due to incompatable hardware/softare on your computer. The Version of your graphics adapter is not supported." 

Fine. I do some Googling and am lead to the 12.10 WQHL, which I downloaded from the AMD site. I run it and it says it's installing to the "Program Files\ATI Technologies" folder. It finishes, says everything installed successfully. I go to the directory, nothing. I check the windows start screen "all apps" view. No sign of anything from ATI or AMD.

So I go to Dell's website and download their driver update for the ATI Radeon 7970m, based on my service tag and OS. Now CCC id visible from the Windows 8 Start screen and actually opens but I get the error message:

"Catalyst Control Center cannot be started. There are currently no settings that can be configured using CCC."

 10/28/2012 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nichtswisser
Grinding Levels

Posts: 114
Joined: 04/09/2011

Upgrade to win 7.



-------------------------

 i5 2500k @ 4,2 GHz ][ ASUS P8P67 Pro ][ HD 5850 ][ 8GB Ram GEIL ][ ASUS Xonar DX


 10/28/2012 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
offbeatbop
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/27/2012

Upgrade to windows 7? I'm using Windows 8.

 10/28/2012 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nichtswisser
Grinding Levels

Posts: 114
Joined: 04/09/2011

Originally posted by: offbeatbop Upgrade to windows 7? I'm using Windows 8.

 

That's why I recommended you to upgrade to a stable and working windows. It's like with Vista and XP, from Vista to XP was an update as well even thought M$ wanted people to believe that the opposite was true.



-------------------------

 i5 2500k @ 4,2 GHz ][ ASUS P8P67 Pro ][ HD 5850 ][ 8GB Ram GEIL ][ ASUS Xonar DX


 10/28/2012 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R2DeeTard
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/28/2012

Originally posted by: Nichtswisser
Originally posted by: offbeatbop Upgrade to windows 7? I'm using Windows 8.

 

 

 

 

That's why I recommended you to upgrade to a stable and working windows. It's like with Vista and XP, from Vista to XP was an update as well even thought M$ wanted people to believe that the opposite was true.

 

 

??? that makes no sense.

Statistics
87476 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.