Topic Title: Don't understand these overdrive clock speeds
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/02/2012 04:57 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/02/2012 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Why54
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/02/2012

For some reason, before launching a game and the system is idle I get higher CPU clock speeds than when the game is running. When the game is running and minimised (to check the clock speed), the clock speeds hover around 1.5 only, when it is capable of 2.4. The minute I launch a game, the clock speed seems to drop when i alt tab to check it.

System idle:

http://imgur.com/iROcB

Game running:

http://imgur.com/27qcn

 

Can anyone explain why this is happening?

I'm using AMD Overdrive 4.2.3

system info:

64 bit windows 7

Aspire 5560G

AMD Quad-Core A6-3420M

AMD Radeon HD 6520G + 7670M

4GB DD3 RAM

 

 

 



Edited: 11/02/2012 at 05:39 PM by Why54
 11/02/2012 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Hello, a bit more information may be needed to help you with your issue. Please read the thread below and revise your post to include the requested information in detail.  Doing so will help us help you more efficiently.

Thanks in advance...

**STICKY** | PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING
Please use the template, and fill out as much information about your issue as possible.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 11/02/2012 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7278
Joined: 11/13/2009

Download GPUZ...run it in the background while you are playing. When you check it...use the dropdown beside gpu speed and select "highest". That is the only way to check for sure.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/02/2012 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Why54
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/02/2012

Originally posted by: stumped Download GPUZ...run it in the background while you are playing. When you check it...use the dropdown beside gpu speed and select "highest". That is the only way to check for sure.

 

I should have been clearer, It's the CPU speed I'm worried about, not the GPU speed

 11/02/2012 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7278
Joined: 11/13/2009

Sorry...I misread.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
86477 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.