Topic Title: 7450M not detected in catalyst
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/08/2012 11:51 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/08/2012 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P098
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/08/2012

Hello,

 

I have Hp G4-1325tx, i5 2450M, Intel HD 3000 and 7450M. Today when I downloaded 12.11 beta 6 driver and installed it, it didnt detect my card(7450M) and only takes intel's. Both the cards are enabled in device manager. This problem persisted with recent catalyst verisons 12.08, 12.10 also, so I struck with 12.6, but seeing this problem I decided to revert back to 12.6 but it is also now not showing my graphics card. Is there any remedy for it?

 

Thank you.

 11/08/2012 12:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

I would highly recommend that you only install drivers for your laptop that are provided by your laptop manufacturer as they often times customize reference driver packages to meet their specifications.

Also, see below:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=161340&enterthread=y



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 11/08/2012 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P098
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/08/2012

Thank you for your prompt reply.

 

After your advice, I installed AMD driver from hp official site, after installing it gives me following error "Catalyst Control Center cannot be started. There are currently no settings that can be configured using Catalyst Control Center."

 

So Im currently using Intel HD 3000, and there is no way to switch to AMD GPU.

 11/08/2012 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Is there no way in the bios to select discreet or on-board? Try these drivers > http://benchmark3d.com/amd-catalyst-12-11-beta-6-9-01-8

Also read this > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162109&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/09/2012 12:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P098
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/08/2012

Yes, Ive downloaded the same 12.11 beta 6 with .NET 4.0 version from amd official site, still the problem persist. There is an option to choose between the graphics card mode between "Dynamic" and "Fixed" in BIOS, I toggled between both but, it didnt solve my problem.

 11/09/2012 01:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Look..here are bulletins from HP. Within these bulletins are many links for further information and guides. Spend alot of time with this...

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&lc=en&docname=c02731962  and then 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&destPage=document&docname=c03048374&lc=en&tmp_docname=c03048374

Then come back and tell us how you did it Cheers



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/09/2012 03:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P098
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/08/2012

Yes Ive read all the article in the link provided by you. Still there is no remedy for this.

 

While doing a clean install of the AMD catalyst, I had used driver fusion to completely wipe the residual files left after the unistall of the catalyst, may be that be causing errors?

 11/10/2012 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P098
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/08/2012

After endless restarts and install/uninstall procedures later, I finally managed to get my card detected in the Catalyst. I was thinking if I can update just the card driver via device manger, so I went ahead and updated my amd driver from 8.xxx to 9.xxxxx, but there is a problem, my disply brightness shot up to full and it wont come down. Is ther any solution for this?

 

Why Im keen on installing this driver is because it promise to bring huge improvements over previous ones.

Statistics
85502 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.