Topic Title: Why have a Laptop section ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/22/2012 06:32 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/22/2012 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kali19
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 11/22/2012

As the title says ?

Why not just leave it as the 3 'stickys' and have done with it ?

I mean 95% of the questions in here are about graphic driver problems, as I thought this was a 'help forum' but it seems to much trouble for some people, yes you know who you are, to bother answering in a civil way and just keep banging on and say 'go to the manufactures site' or 'read the skickys'

So if indeed that is the only 'help / advise' you can offer here, then once again WHY HAVE A LAPTOP SECTION ?? 

Kali19

 

 

 

 11/22/2012 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Because....laptops have a totally different set of problems than a desktop. You can't use anything but 'mobility' drivers...and some have to be downloaded from the manufacturer only. mobility drivers are 'dumbed down' versions of mainstream graphics and designed by the laptop mfg to work with its dumbed down processors and specific bios instructions.

Also, people with laptops are supposed to actually read the stickys. Most do not and have to have someone read it to them. If you have seen the amount of posts I have " Uh..my game crashes!!!! What is the matter???" You could understand why there are stickys.  Do you have a laptop? Do you have a question that is not answered in the stickys? Or do you need it read to you...just say so and someone will oblige.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 11/22/2012 at 08:07 PM by stumped
 11/22/2012 08:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kali19
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 11/22/2012

 

1/ Yes I do have a laptop

2/ No I don't have a question re the skicky's

3/ Yes, please I would like you to read the sticky's to me, but can you use your inside voice ?

BTW a large post count is NOT equal to your level of Intelligence..............

 

Kali.

 

 11/22/2012 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: kali19  

 BTW a large post count is NOT equal to your level of Intelligence..............

 

Kali.

 

Yours is.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/22/2012 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12472
Joined: 04/17/2008

You could also say "why is a forum needed" when if people would do simple internet searches and basic diagnostic steps they would find the answer to their question 95% of the time. Why don't you count all the threads on here that had the following results:

1) Issue with the game/program itself
2) Faulty RAM module
3) Insufficient power supply
4) Outdated BIOS/Drivers/Program version
5) Hardware to old to support newer addin hardware (such as an old motherboard with a current generation video card)

And yet people come on here every day in every category and post new threads without doing any research or basic diagnostic steps, and many don't even read the stickies.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/23/2012 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi well in the few years I have been doing this (23) most people have no idea what is in there computers but still think they can fix them, so reading a sticky that they dont understand does not really help. They try to install video cards or hard drives with no idea of the process to do this type of thing. Most really need a pc shop to sort there problems not a forum. To use a forum one should have some understanding of computers.



-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 11/23/2012 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12472
Joined: 04/17/2008

And that's also how Apple sells a PC painted white for a 300% markup.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/27/2012 06:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
phatphail
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/27/2012

i have a problem with my video card drivers, i sent my laptop away to be repaired and i get it back and it wont run the easiest game in the world (minecraft) [yes i play minecraft] ever time i open it to log in i get this message

bad video card drivers

minecraft was unable to start because it failed to find and accelerated opengl mode. this can usually be fixxed by updating the video card drivers.

i rang the shop they had no clue my friend tried to fix it to no avail and ive tried with no success too.

im running windos vista home premium service pack 2

processor:amd athlon (tm) 62 xs dual-core processor tk-57 1.90 GHz

2.00 gb ram

32 bit op system

ati radeon x1200 series  (most up to date for my software)

 

the game worked before it went to the shop and now it doesnt  does anyone have any clue on how to fix this

Statistics
85445 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.