Topic Title: How to remove safely remove device?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/08/2012 03:12 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/08/2012 03:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Avatar-Lion
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/08/2012

I have a laptop HP PAVILION tx2550er. After installing AHCI driver in the system tray shows the Safely Remove Hardware icon (my hard drive). How to remove (not hide!) the icon?

I'm sorry for the mistakes, I'm from Russia, the text was written with the help of an Google Translate.
 12/08/2012 10:43 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1206
Joined: 07/13/2009

The best you can do is look for a BIOS option to disable hot-plug for your AHCI controller.  Otherwise, you're stuck with the icon.  I wouldn't worry about accidentally "removing" your hard drive, though, since it will be in use and you won't be able to.

 

 12/08/2012 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4258
Joined: 12/27/2008

For Windows 7/Vista only:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci\Controller0]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci\Controller0\Channel0]
"TreatAsInternalPort"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci\Controller0\Channel1]
"TreatAsInternalPort"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci\Controller0\Channel2]
"TreatAsInternalPort"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci\Controller0\Channel3]
"TreatAsInternalPort"=dword:00000001

 

Make a text file with the above contents. Replace Controller/Channel numbers with the ones used by your SATA devices. You can find these in the device manager.

Save it as a .reg file (extension). Double click to apply the file.

Make sure you back up your registry befory trying it. Use at your own risk.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 12/09/2012 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Avatar-Lion
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/08/2012

Thanny

This is a laptop, not a PC, its BIOS there are no such option.

 

Eydee

I installed the driver from AMD, not Microsoft. Your advice is useless.

 12/09/2012 11:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6082
Joined: 11/13/2009

This is a Windows issue...not a AMD issue. Check Microsoft's Windows forum...post your question there.  http://windows7forums.com/



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/09/2012 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4258
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Avatar-Lion I installed the driver from AMD, not Microsoft.

Old mistake, always use drivers provided by your laptop manufacturer, not the chipset provider.

Another mistake: there's a laptop subforum for a reason. Use it.

 

Originally posted by: Avatar-Lion Your advice is useless.

You're welcome. Love you too.

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

Statistics
80937 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.