Topic Title: How to increase shared system ram to my AMD 7650m graphics chip?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/28/2012 06:31 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/28/2012 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EmpirialPrince
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/28/2012

Hi there, I have recently bought a sony vaio laptop and I was wondering if it is possible to increase the amount of system ram my computer shares with my 7650m grapics chip. This chip its self has 1 GB of ram. I have 8 GB of system ram most of which is going to waste so i would like to provide my grpahics card with additional ram. Any ideas on how to do this? I was thinking maybe taking a look at the BIOS? I use windows 8 64bit. Thanks
 12/28/2012 08:57 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12242
Joined: 04/17/2008

If it has dedicated VRAM, it doesn't use shared system RAM, and even if it did, 1GB is by far sufficient for a card of that power.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/28/2012 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EmpirialPrince
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/28/2012

Thank you for your reply. I was just wondering as I've seen 2GB versions of my card cirulating around. Are they clocked at a higher value maybe? So far its super powerfull for all my professional needs ( photo, video and music production ) and more decent than any card I've ever owned for gaming. Was just wondering if I could push some more juice out of it. 

 12/28/2012 05:48 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12242
Joined: 04/17/2008

Nope, wouldn't matter if you stuck on 15GB more, the processing the power of the 7650M is just not there to be able to take advantage of it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/28/2012 05:54 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7067
Joined: 11/13/2009

ready boost might help. Google it.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
84269 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.