Topic Title: Laptop Autoswitching
Topic Summary: Used to be able to autoswitch GPU's when changing from Battery to power and back
Created On: 01/15/2013 10:01 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/15/2013 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maverick0173
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/15/2013

Hi, I have an HP Pavillion DV7 running an AMD Quad Core Processor and two ATI GPU's one is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD4200 Series Processor for low power e.g. battery and the other is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD5000 Series for gaming with the power plugged in. I have recently downloaded and installed the latest version of AMD Catalyst Control Centre. In doing so I have now lost the option to autoswitch between the two GPU's and the CCC doesn't even give me an option to switch between the two GPU's which it used to. Is there some way I can get my autoswitching back? Can live without it but would be nice to have it back up and running. Many thanks for any advice. Mav.

 01/15/2013 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

You need to:

1. Read the big STICKY about updating mobility drivers in this section

2. Go to your laptop manufacturers web site and download their drivers for your computer. They are special drivers made for your laptop. If you use 'generic' drivers from AMD you will lose the 'switchable' option and nothing will work quite right.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/19/2013 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
browerbr
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/19/2013

Yeah... good answer for this problems with swichable laptop graphics...

 

So i also have and 5650 / 4200 HP laptop and i will stick with old graphic drivers from HP because they stopped updating the graphic drivers pages 2 years ago when the laptop was launched and i can't update any official drivers because amd/ati simply forgot about their own product and the new drivers support 5650 but not 4200, so i can't update to the new CCC/Drivers.

 

Nice amd  Good to know to never get amd/ati products anymore.

 01/21/2013 07:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris1977ce
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/21/2013

Mean too - have an 4250 and a 5470 in one Notebook with the same Problem!

AMD sucks !!!

Next time i buy only Intel/nVidia Notebook - they support "old" Cards.

 01/21/2013 09:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

You were the one who bought the laptop....smart move. It is not a matter of support....Nvidia nor AMD can update drivers that are switchable. The laptop manufacturer is the one who made them work only with their machines. So ...read this and weep > https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/503695/?comment=3593660

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/482805/?comment=3465821

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/479072/?comment=3429223



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 01/21/2013 at 10:11 AM by stumped
Statistics
85366 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.