Topic Title: Manual Clock Adjustments AMD A10-4600M Radeon HD7660G
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/28/2013 02:04 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/28/2013 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
l0new0lf331
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/01/2013

Is it pssible to manually control the clock speeds with this APU?

My Laptop

Toshiba Satellite S875D-S7239 17.3"

AMD A10 4600M 2.3GHz (3.2GHZ with Turbo Core Tech)

AMD Radeon HD766G

6GB RAM

650GB HDD

 

I know it is supposed to be done Dynamically but I would like to have manual control over the overclocking function.Mind you I don't want to exceed the limits, just control the settings.

 01/28/2013 09:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jorge007
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 01/23/2013

You can try AMD GPU Clock tool. There are two version I have used. v0.9.26.0 and v.0.9.8. My laptop with a 4530 only works with 0.9.26.0. On version 0.9.8, I cannot manually change the clocks. 

I looked them up for your convenience. 

v0.9.26.0: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1641/mirrors.php

v0.9.8: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1128/AMD_GPU_Clock_Tool_v0.9.8.html

Be careful when changing the clocks. Too high or too low will crash Windows. 



-------------------------

Jorge loves running everyday!

 01/28/2013 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
l0new0lf331
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/01/2013

Cool Thanks.

What about the CPU? I want to be able to set it to the 3.2GHz it tops out at.

 

Edit:I just tried them and the message "No Valid Devices Detected" was shown.

Thanks though.



Edited: 01/29/2013 at 12:11 AM by l0new0lf331
 01/29/2013 11:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jorge007
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 01/23/2013

Bummer that it didn't work. Overclocking laptops in general is more complicated than a Desktop. The manufacturer of your laptop may have locked the clocks preventing you from changing them. I wouldn't recommend overclocking the CPU. Laptops already get hot on stock speeds. Oh! and your laptop already overclocks itself. Your processor runs at 2.3 GHz, but will overclock to 3.2 GHz when it's under heavier load. I understand that you want to manually set the speeds though. 



-------------------------

Jorge loves running everyday!

Statistics
87459 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.