Topic Title: Dual graphics performance?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/01/2013 04:02 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/01/2013 04:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlywOw
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2013

Hello,I bought a new Acer laptop V3-551G-8454, which comes with A8-4500M and discrete graphics 7670M. I'm using OEM Windows 8 64-bit and newest drivers 13.2. (Also I tried supported drivers from manufacturer).I've been looking in BIOS settings if I'm able to disable integrated graphics permanently, but I have only 2 options one of them is Integral and second one Switchable, so I didn't change it and using Switchable.In control panel I can switch between APU and Dual graphics as you can see on image. http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/4084/78823097.png I'm using only this option, because when I turn on the second, my games run slowly, there is a problem, why is it supposed?I was running benchmark in Sleeping Dogs and with APU checked on I had Average FPS 31.4 and with Dual graphics 18.6 I think something is wrong. I tried others version of drivers, but it's same. Only one game has more FPS, but this game is 10 years old. (Counter Strike)I set everything on High performance, but I still see 7640G+7600M graphics in benchmark.Could anyone help me, how can I switch onto my discrete graphics only?
 08/20/2013 01:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stefan123
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/20/2013

I got the exat same issue: how can I switch onto my discrete graphics only?

 08/22/2013 05:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
masadwin
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/15/2013

it all depends on your laptop manufacturer and which drivers they provided. see the power tab on the left? check that tab, if theres an option it should be in the power tab.

i only had switchable graphics when i bought my laptop. my games would run using AMD gpu and other apps would run using the integrated card. after the driver update (drivers from my manufacturer i.e DELL) i noticed there waas a new option which allowed be to use my discreet or integrated GPU as the sole gpu.

drivers from amd wont work optimally because theyre generic drivers

download the drivers from ur manufacturers website

Statistics
84170 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.