Topic Title: Wrong resolution on monitor when using the 13.1 driver
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/19/2013 03:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/19/2013 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCDania
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/19/2013

I have a Asus G73JH notebook with a Radeon Mobile 5870 gfx and a 17" 1920*1080 screen.

OS is win7 64-bit.

When connecting it to my 23" Asus H236 @ 1920*1080 using the HDMI cable, I get a black border all around the picture on the Asus H236 monitor and text is a bit fuzzy. Screen on the notebook looks correct.

Win7 reports both the notebook screen and the attached monitor as running at 1920*1080. Win7 also correctly reports the name of both the notebook screen and the Asus monitor

The CCC seems to believe my Asus monitor is a HDTV but setting it to run 1080p doesn't change anything (black frame stays, text is fuzzy). The non-HDTV monitor resolutions I can select are all lower than the default for the Asus monitor. The CCC also sets the refresh rate to 59hz instead of 60hz.

CCC reports notebook screen as Generic PnP screen, and monitor as Generic PnP monitor.

When using the overscan slider to make the desktop fill out the Asus monitor, the text gets sharp but the icons are clearly enlarged.

When running a game, it runs with a black border around it ignoring the overscan setting even though the game is set to run 1920*1080.

The Asus monitor is normally used with my PC (running GTX 580) with no problems what-so-ever.

I did not have this problem with the original graphics driver/CCC. Rolling back is not a solution as that makes it impossible to run certain games.

Anyone have a solution?

Also, do anyone else have the same problem? (Black border on external monitor connected to a labtop/notebook using HDMI)

 02/19/2013 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4851
Joined: 12/27/2008

What happens if you use the drivers provided by Asus?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/20/2013 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCDania
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/19/2013

As I wrote in my OP, I did not have that problem. The attached monitor ran at 1920*1080. Rolling back to the original drivers is not a usable solution as I have games on the notebook that requires drivers newer than the original ones for working.

I've done a little research on the internet and there seems to be some other people having the same problem on other notebook brands. I am unable to test if the same happens using a VGA connector as the Asus H236 Monitor does not have that interface.

The Asus G73JH notebook only have the HDMI and VGA interfaces so I can't test using DVI.

 02/20/2013 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4851
Joined: 12/27/2008

I wonder what you mean by "original drivers". The ones on the CD/that are preinstalled?

How about goint to asus.com, looking up your laptop, and trying the drivers posted there? That's what I meant above.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/20/2013 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

OP...The only "supported" driver that ASUS offers is v8.683.0.0. It was released on 1/29/2010.

http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&m=G73Jh&hashedid=8je5Ot4HBnKOdT81

Your line of thought coming to AMD for support is a little off although I do understand. You purchased an ASUS product which you should be engaging ASUS for support with, not AMD. The reason I can say that is most laptops do not use "reference" spec components but rather components which they have tweaked/modified to fit their design specs....whether they be thermal specs or power limitation specs, etc. With that in mind the drivers as also not reference so you shouldn't expect that AMD's reference class drivers to function properly on your non-reference hardware.

That being said and the fact that you posted your question in the wrong area on this forum (I moved it there for you) you may wish to look at the thread I've linked below for guidance...

Updating Mobility drivers



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 06/23/2013 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCDania
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/19/2013

I have just installed the Catalyst 13.4 driver and that solved the problem....
Statistics
84333 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.