Topic Title: radeon 6550M
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/01/2013 08:18 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/01/2013 08:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jeje
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2013

Hello,

so I'm having problems since last month when I play Dead Space 2, The Sims 3 or the beta of Final Fantasy XIV. I can see some forms spinning all over the screen in Dead Space 2 or in the other 2 lines continue to infinity, it's just awful.

So I've unistalled my drivers ( with the AMD unistaller ) and it works fine ( I don't get it >< ) but I can't let it like that because I've got a switchable graphics cards and without the Catalyst Control Center I can't switch between the 2 graphics cards.

 

I thought about using the Recovery Tool but if don't have to use it, it would be better.

ATI Mobility Radeon HD 6550

8.771.1.0 ( 09/09/2010)

Windows 7 64 bits

P.S. : With Windows 7 i've installed Fedora as a second OS ( I don't know if that's the problem ).Sims 3 lines infinite

Dead Space 2 bug spinning



Edited: 03/01/2013 at 08:54 AM by jeje
 03/01/2013 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7271
Joined: 11/13/2009

You must have missed the sticky "Updating mobility drivers" http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=161340&enterthread=y   pay special attention to the words "switchable graphics".



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/01/2013 12:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jeje
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2013

Yes I know about it and I installed the driver from the HP site but there's no new driver and the problems I had haven't changed ...

 03/01/2013 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3509
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: jeje Yes I know about it and I installed the driver from the HP site but there's no new driver and the problems I had haven't changed ...

 

Then run the system restore on your laptop. All you can do when you own a laptop with intel switchable graphics is either A. Use a program like driver sweeper to remove all traces of AMD drivers and reinstall them. Or B. Run the restore option on your laptop. 

If its a graphics issue at a driver level though you are going to have to bug HP to release a new updated driver.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 03/02/2013 03:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jeje
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2013

Ok but when i tried using driver sweeper to remove all traces of AMD drivers and after rebooting I just had a black screen and I had to copy each file I deleted to their original directory using the Windows Safe mode ... so I'm a bit scared to use driver sweeper again

 03/02/2013 03:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7271
Joined: 11/13/2009

Driver sweeper has a 'restore' function....puts back all it removed.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/02/2013 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jeje
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2013

I know but the program crashed or just didn't work ( I can't really remember ^^' ) when I wanted to use the restore function

Statistics
86397 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.