Topic Title: AMD A8-3520M Switchable Graphics not working right?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/10/2013 01:14 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/10/2013 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elemein
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/19/2013

So guys, I need some help. Recently I reinstalled Windows 7 Enterprise onto my laptop. It is an AMD A8-3520M+7450M CrossFire setup. I popped in the appropiate Toshiba drivers and everything is recognized fine. Buuut-

http://imgur.com/Qdg9yJA

Crossfire is disabled, and everytime I turn on Switchable Graphics, it complains that I dont have drivers installed (which I do...)

Any ideas for the fix?

 03/10/2013 01:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Yes....you overlooked the first big sticky in this forum...installing mobility drivers. Let me re-cap:

QUOTE:      If you experience difficulty while using the generic AMD Catalyst Mobility drivers, we recommend reverting to the driver provided by your notebook vendor. Please contact your notebook vendor for their most recent graphics drivers.

 

The following notebooks are not compatible:

 Toshiba® notebooks
 Sony® VAIO® notebooks
 Panasonic® notebooks

 Notebooks equipped with switchable graphics

 NOTEBOOKS EQUIPPED WITH SWITCHABLE GRAPHICS MUST GET DRIVERS FROM LAPTOP MANUFACTURER.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/10/2013 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elemein
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/19/2013

I suppose I forgot to mention that it was the Toshiba website that I got the drivers from right after installing Windows 7 Enterprise. So I did do as the sticky instructed me to do, but I still arrived at this issue. Sorry for not mentioning that earlier.

 03/11/2013 10:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elemein
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/19/2013

Is there no solution to this?

 03/12/2013 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3508
Joined: 03/01/2009

Well since the AMD drivers are not supported by Toshiba since they decided to opt out of the AMD Driver program. You need to be contacting Toshiba and ask them what your options are.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

Statistics
85386 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.