Topic Title: Theater Mode
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/15/2013 11:00 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/15/2013 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cireja
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/16/2010

Hi, I'd like to get a second-hand laptop with this "theater mode" available. My idea is to find wich is the last ATI series to have it, so I'll try to get a laptop as new as possible having that option.

We already know series 5000 doesn't support theater mode, so I'd like to know what is the last model having it. If someone can help...

Thanks

 03/16/2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3504
Joined: 03/01/2009

You are going to need a windows XP laptop. With really old drivers. Like pre 9.4 I think. So it would be somewhere in the 3k or older series cards. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 03/19/2013 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cireja
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/16/2010

That's what I'm using now, an old laptop with Theater-mode support and XP, to be exact I have a Mobility Radeon X700 and it works perfectly. The point is this laptop is gettin rusty and i need to change it, but i want the new one to support this mode also.

So, I understand series 3000 series would work, but i want the best I can get. I've seen a Toshiba L500 I can get, with a Mobility Radeon HD 4570, also having HDMI port, so it would be perfect if it had Theater-mode.

Can someone confirm it supports theater-mode? Or give me some advice about other laptops?

Thanks for your time!

 03/20/2013 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3504
Joined: 03/01/2009

 Your asking for someone to find you a laptop that 5 years old or older with a feature AMD had to drop thats nolonger supported anymore. I mean I don't have that much time on my hands, not sure if others do.

You don't "need" theater mode, there is video software like cyberlink that supports GPU video playback support with screen edgeing and the like. 

Wanting theater mode is really a complete waste of time/money seeing as how modern video software will do the same thing.

If you just have to have this mode you need to go do some research and find one of these really old laptops on craigslist or whatever site you prefer and see right then and there when you go to purchase it if it supports it or not.  



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers



Edited: 03/20/2013 at 05:37 PM by Vantharas
 03/27/2013 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cireja
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/16/2010

Hello again. First of all, thanks for your time.
I've been tryin to solve this matter for long, and I usually receive the same answer, "I don't need that feature", and actual soft can solve my trouble easier. I assure my intention is not to insist, but actually I do need that feature in my computer, and this kind of answers, though well-intentioned, keep frustrating me :S

What I want exactly is to open a video, so that it opens acutomatically full-screen in the connected TV, but at the same time it stays windowed in my laptop, so I can work in other stuff at the same time. That's what I used to do with theatre-mode and what I want to do. I don't understand why nobody else appreciates this possibility as I do, but for me and my work it's really important. I hope somebody can help me, thanks again.

Greetings.

 03/27/2013 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3504
Joined: 03/01/2009

Why do you need the movie playing in a little box on your laptop. Why not just let it play full screen on your TV while working on your laptop?



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 07/21/2014 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fierygt
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/25/2009

This is a pretty important feature for those of us who do video editing.  It allows you to edit the video on one screen, while a full screen preview is outputted to the second screen.  I use videoredo as one of my programs, and theater mode is the only way I can make that happen.  Most software does not even have this specific type of feature built in, as a workaround.  Even the programs people have suggested, do not work the same way as theater mode.  It's sad that this feature was removed from the drivers, when I "can" get it to work, in Windows 7 64 bit, by turning off the aero mode, which allows you to still use overlay, and overlay is what theater mode relies on to work.  But as the original poster said, we are relegated to using older Ati cards to make this happen, when a simple driver patch should allow most ATI cards to have this feature again.  I myself am still having to use an x1800 in an i5-2500k PC, simply because for whatever reason, video card manufacturers have seemed willing to shoot themselves in the foot, and not sell me and others a new card, because they just turned this feature off in the (newer) drivers.

 07/21/2014 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cireja
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/16/2010

Amen

Statistics
84146 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.