Topic Title: Mobility drivers for nonswitchable graphics
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/10/2013 08:42 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/10/2013 08:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
saqlain146
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/10/2013

hi

I am currently using Toshiba L850 with nonswitchable graphics card HD 7670M . while searching for drivers I found that amd don't support switable graphics however the mobility drivers are not installed even for my case. can anyone please indicate why i cant install the drivers , i already have company catalyst drivers installed.AMD mobility should work on my system since they are clearly supported.

 

 04/10/2013 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6102
Joined: 11/13/2009

Notice Toshiba does not support generic drivers > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=161340&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/10/2013 08:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
saqlain146
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/10/2013

but in the article , its only mentioned for switchable graphics. furthermore , the automated verification utility does find a driver for my device. It just doesn't let me install it for some reason.

 04/10/2013 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6102
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: saqlain146 but in the article , its only mentioned for switchable graphics. furthermore , the automated verification utility does find a driver for my device. It just doesn't let me install it for some reason.

No..thats not what it says. Toshiba, Sony , and Panasonic notebook graphic drivers are not compatible and if you try to install them you will recieve that message. Also, any switchable graphics no matter who the manufacturer is not compatible. This was a decision made by the laptop manufacturer, not AMD. That said, you can try to download and install the drivers manually without using the compatibility tool >  http://benchmark3d.com/drivers-search



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/10/2013 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
saqlain146
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/10/2013

thankyou for your response. I think I should head to third party leshcat drivers after all

 04/10/2013 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6102
Joined: 11/13/2009

Good luck. Leshcats are for switchable AMD/Intel configurations. The advice I gave you works for most people.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/11/2013 09:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
saqlain146
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/10/2013

I am currently using the leshcat drivers and they are performing brilliantly with no problems at all.

I thought you might help me with another problem. when I open the latop lid after a prolonged sleep (at least 5-6 hours) my screen gets garbled with lots of lines on the display,however when i put the lid down and open it again , it starts working again, it never happens without a prolonged sleep.

I had this problem before the drivers since i purchased my laptop two weeks back. I thought it was the lid pad problem, however sometimes due to prolonged sleep system shuts down, and when i open the lid then , I see clear Toshiba logo with no garbled image but when the window 8's lock screen appears , that one is garbled and everyscreen after it. Until I reopen the lid of course. So this might negate the thought that its the issue of lid pad but some kind of software.

Do you know what it is and how can it be resolved ? thankyou, it would be a great help since its quite troubling.I can't send my latop back on warranty nor just live with it .

 04/12/2013 10:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Sprite Maker

Posts: 3496
Joined: 03/01/2009

If you are getting bad screen after boot you have several options that come to mind. 

Option 1. Use the recovery option on your laptop.

Option 2. Use the windows 8 refresh option that keeps your programs but resets windows 8.

Option 3. Uninstall / reinstall drivers.

Option 4. RMA your laptop.

I'd go with 3 first then 2 , then 1 . I'd ignore 4 since you can't RMA your laptop though. 

You can also do some advanced trouble shooting such as useing a driver sweeper type program and give that a shot as well with option 3.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 04/12/2013 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
saqlain146
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/10/2013

Thankyou,

now for option 3 , I have tried that , even installed factory drivers again but no gain, because the problem I had was with them too.

Option 2, what does it actually do? removes all windows updates but keeps program and settings or what I might lose doing so?

Option 3 , what should i do with reocovery ? restore the system to a previous state but there is  no state where it was fixed completely,

Option 4 , RMA ? what does it mean ?

and when I said I cant send it back on warranty I meant that may be I wont be able to reproduce the problem easily to show at the service station, it requires long sleep timing!

 

Statistics
81026 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.