Topic Title: Tomb Raider 2013 APPCRASH
Topic Summary: AMD Graphics APPCRASH when running Tomb Raider 2013
Created On: 04/11/2013 03:08 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/11/2013 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KaiSudeki
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/10/2013

 

Graphics Card
- AMD Radeon HD 7730 M
- Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
- No overclocking is being done.


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Version 2012.0326.310.3601
- Driver Date: 3/26/2012
- Driver Version 8.951.9.1000

Operating System
- Widows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Service Pack 1

Issue Details
I'm experiencing an APPCRASH in which randomly shuts down my TombRaider.exe. I have looked up the requirments of the game and my system meets the expectations. I have had my motherboard replaced, operating system reinstalled, and drivers updated by dell support.

I am running the game at the lowest settings possible. V-sync, post processing, high precision, and tessellation have all been disabled. I'm also running it in a 1280 x 720 window with my UAC disabled. 

Here is what windows reliability history tells me:

 

Description

Faulting Application Path: C:\Games\Tomb Raider 2013\TombRaider.exe

 

Problem signature

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

Application Name: TombRaider.exe

Application Version: 1.0.716.5

Application Timestamp: 5131eb70

Fault Module Name: atidxx32.dll

Fault Module Version: 8.17.10.425

Fault Module Timestamp: 4f701619

Exception Code: c0000005

Exception Offset: 00017f15

OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3

Locale ID: 1033

Additional Information 1: 0a9e

Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Additional Information 3: 0a9e

Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

 

Extra information about the problem

Bucket ID: 3448444619

 


Motherboard or System Make & Model
- System Manufacturer: Dell Inc
- System Model: Inspiron 7520
- System Type: x64-based PC 


Power Supply

-Brand: Dell Inc.
-Model #: DA90PM111
-Input: 100-240 V ~ 1.5 A    50-60 Hz
-Output: 19.5 V ===  4.62 A


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Razer Deathadder Mouse
Generic Cooling Pad

Applications and Games

-TombRaider.exe
-Version 1.0.716.5

CPU Details
- Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3612QM CPU @ 2.10 Ghz
- No over clocking is being used.

Motherboard BIOS Version
- SMBIOS Version 2.7


System Memory Type & Amount
- 8 GB of DDR3 Ram
- Not exactly sure where to find any more information in regards to this.

Additional Hardware
- No additional hardware as this is a laptop.

Additional Details
- This game was ran on a fresh install of Windows 7, with all drivers installed correctly by a dell support representative. 
- No viruses or spyware is on this computer as confirmed by AVG 2013.
- Along with the up to date drivers I have the latest Catalyst Control Software.
- Not sure if this is anything, but in the configutation menu in Tomb Raider, it only displays my Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000.

Would really like to be able to play this game as I know my specs meet the requirements. I can provide any additional information that you need as of now I feel like I have covered everything. Please help! Dell doesn't know, my teachers at ITT Tech don't know, someone has to have an answer as to why this APPCRASH is occuring. Thankyou very much for reading this over!

 

I'm running this on a Dell Inspiron 7520 Laptop. 

 

 

 04/16/2013 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sebastien
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/13/2010

Hello,

 

I am not a pro at it but if this van help...

What Catalyst version do you actually use?

Did you make sure AVG is set to allow your video game.

Have you tried to run the game using HD graphics 4000, even if it is low FPS and poor visual quality, try and check it works.

Have you tried a different AMD driver version?

 



-------------------------
 04/16/2013 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7836
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: KaiSudeki  

Graphics Card - AMD Radeon HD 7730 M - Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 - No overclocking is being done.

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History - Version 2012.0326.310.3601 - Driver Date: 3/26/2012 - Driver Version 8.951.9.1000 Operating System - Widows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Service Pack 1 Issue Details I'm experiencing an APPCRASH in which randomly shuts down my TombRaider.exe. I have looked up the requirments of the game and my system meets the expectations. I have had my motherboard replaced, operating system reinstalled, and drivers updated by dell support.

I am running the game at the lowest settings possible. V-sync, post processing, high precision, and tessellation have all been disabled. I'm also running it in a 1280 x 720 window with my UAC disabled. 

Here is what windows reliability history tells me:

 

Description

Faulting Application Path: C:\Games\Tomb Raider 2013\TombRaider.exe

 

Problem signature

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

Application Name: TombRaider.exe

Application Version: 1.0.716.5

Application Timestamp: 5131eb70

Fault Module Name: atidxx32.dll

Fault Module Version: 8.17.10.425

Fault Module Timestamp: 4f701619

Exception Code: c0000005

Exception Offset: 00017f15

OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3

Locale ID: 1033

Additional Information 1: 0a9e

Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Additional Information 3: 0a9e

Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

 

Extra information about the problem

Bucket ID: 3448444619

 

Motherboard or System Make & Model - System Manufacturer: Dell Inc - System Model: Inspiron 7520 - System Type: x64-based PC 

Power Supply -Brand: Dell Inc. -Model #: DA90PM111 -Input: 100-240 V ~ 1.5 A    50-60 Hz -Output: 19.5 V ===  4.62 A

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used - Razer Deathadder Mouse Generic Cooling Pad Applications and Games -TombRaider.exe -Version 1.0.716.5 CPU Details - Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3612QM CPU @ 2.10 Ghz - No over clocking is being used. Motherboard BIOS Version - SMBIOS Version 2.7

System Memory Type & Amount - 8 GB of DDR3 Ram - Not exactly sure where to find any more information in regards to this. Additional Hardware - No additional hardware as this is a laptop. Additional Details - This game was ran on a fresh install of Windows 7, with all drivers installed correctly by a dell support representative.  - No viruses or spyware is on this computer as confirmed by AVG 2013. - Along with the up to date drivers I have the latest Catalyst Control Software. - Not sure if this is anything, but in the configutation menu in Tomb Raider, it only displays my Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000.

Would really like to be able to play this game as I know my specs meet the requirements. I can provide any additional information that you need as of now I feel like I have covered everything. Please help! Dell doesn't know, my teachers at ITT Tech don't know, someone has to have an answer as to why this APPCRASH is occuring. Thankyou very much for reading this over!

 

I'm running this on a Dell Inspiron 7520 Laptop. 

 

 

..and have you tried to install newer drivers? If so, delete all and go back to dell and get the latest drivers for your computer. Sounds like someone tried to install generic (AMD) drivers which will kill the switchable part of your system and only the intergrated graphics can be used.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 04/16/2013 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7836
Joined: 11/13/2009

here is a previous post that might help > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=164915&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 04/16/2013 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KaiSudeki
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/10/2013

 

..and have you tried to install newer drivers? If so, delete all and go back to dell and get the latest drivers for your computer. Sounds like someone tried to install generic (AMD) drivers which will kill the switchable part of your system and only the intergrated graphics can be used.

 

 

I have had my motherboard replaced and my hardrive yet again, with drivers already installed on my hardrive as per the factory settings. Getting ahold of dell afterwards updated my drivers to the most recent ones, bios, amd, intel, etc, etc. Even on a fresh install with only tomb raider installed, ran as administrator, and yes permissions were set in my firewall and antivirus software I still got the same appcrash. So in response to this, as dell support has tried everything on their end and on mine they are sending me a new laptop. Not sure how this makes any sense seeming how the problem is on the motherboard. I will be recieving my laptop on saturday and will test it on the new laptop.

 04/16/2013 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KaiSudeki
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/10/2013

Also, every time I try to update my catalyst software through the automatic update download on there sight, it always gives me a "you hardware is not supported by this, please contact your manufacturer" or something like that. I have tried ALL of the available catalyst drivers.

My only thought is, is that maybe my power supply is faulty and providing inconsistent voltage to the GPU. This will soon to be proven when I recieve my new laptop on saturday. 

Thanks for the replies guys, I appreciate it.

 04/16/2013 06:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7836
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: KaiSudeki Also, every time I try to update my catalyst software through the automatic update download on there sight, it always gives me a "you hardware is not supported by this, please contact your manufacturer" or something like that. I have tried ALL of the available catalyst drivers.

My only thought is, is that maybe my power supply is faulty and providing inconsistent voltage to the GPU. This will soon to be proven when I recieve my new laptop on saturday. 

Thanks for the replies guys, I appreciate it.

sigh....would you please read the sticky "updating mobility drivers"? If you were to spend a few seconds reading that you would see that switchable graphics are not supported. When you use the auto update and download thing, if it sees that you have switchable graphics or it is a sony, panasonic, or toshiba laptop...it will return that message so you don't screw up your computer.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 04/16/2013 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KaiSudeki
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/10/2013

OK sorry, i somehow managed to overlook that posting. So I'm assuming I will uninstall my drivers both the Intel and AMD. Then install the correct intel drivers which i have downloaded. My question is, should I install the drivers provided by Leshcat's Catalyst because I'm having some trouble finding which driver to download for my card on the benchmark3d website.

Thanks again. 

It also baffles me that dell would not have the laptop correctly configured with the supported drivers. How could they miss such a thing?

I am just a lowely end user, thanks for the help.

 04/16/2013 07:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KaiSudeki
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/10/2013

Reading over the Leshcat's manual is blowing my mind. I wonder if I was to show this to a dell representative that they would finally understand what needs to be done.

 04/16/2013 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7836
Joined: 11/13/2009

That was the drivers you need. Select your OS and download them to your desktop.

http://benchmark3d.com/drivers-search



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 04/16/2013 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KaiSudeki
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/10/2013

I ran the install manager catalyst app, and uninstalled my drivers. Ran driver fusion and uninstalled the remainder of the registry entries. I donwloaded Leshcat's 13.1 WHQL Unifl installer and installed the package which came with the correct drivers for my 4th gen intel display adapter and the correct catalyst installer. Ran the Cata installer, and afterwards ran Tomb Raider and suprisingly it worked perfectly. Thank you so much for your help, Leshcat's catalyst drivers are working perfectly for me. I'm just suprised I had to go through so much just to only install a different version of the catalyst app. Dell support technicians don't know what the hell they are doing.

THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!

 04/16/2013 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7836
Joined: 11/13/2009

Thanks for reporting back! This helps everyone



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

Statistics
88795 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.