Topic Title: AMD PowerXpress problem!
Topic Summary: Cannot switch to High-performance GPU
Created On: 04/21/2013 05:36 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/21/2013 05:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Balin
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/21/2013

Hello everyone,

My pc specs: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, AMD AThlon II P340 Dual-Core Processor, 4 GB RAM, AMD M880G with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250

 

When I start AMD PowerXpress and I switch to High-performance GPU, it will automatically switch back to Power-saving GPU after 10 seconds. This also happens when I plug in my charger. How do I switch permanently to high performance GPU?

 

Thanks everyone

 04/21/2013 09:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Just to make sure...you do know that it will always revert to power saving when you are running on batteries riight? Do you have the power plan set to high performance?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 04/21/2013 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Balin
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/21/2013

Yes my power plan is set to high performance. And even if i plug in my charger and I click on high performance GPU, it remains on Power-saving GPU

 04/21/2013 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Sounds like a battery or controller problem...you should contact your laptop manufacturer tech support.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 04/21/2013 11:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Balin
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/21/2013

Thanks dude, I will try to contact them

 04/21/2013 11:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nevune
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Originally posted by: stumped Just to make sure...you do know that it will always revert to power saving when you are running on batteries riight?

 

This is false, windows can run in high performance while running on batteries. One thing that I've found is a usual culprit for these kinds of things is make sure that your laptop vendor didn't install their own power managment software on it. Make sure all 3rd party power managment items are removed and let windows handle it, windows 7 does a good job with that on it's own.

 04/21/2013 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3516
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: Nevune
Originally posted by: stumped Just to make sure...you do know that it will always revert to power saving when you are running on batteries riight?

 

 

 

 

This is false, windows can run in high performance while running on batteries. One thing that I've found is a usual culprit for these kinds of things is make sure that your laptop vendor didn't install their own power managment software on it. Make sure all 3rd party power managment items are removed and let windows handle it, windows 7 does a good job with that on it's own.

 

Its not false , but its not 100% correct either.  But it does depend on what you said. And some manufacturers have that built in at a hardware level. For example on my Asus G series laptops. If you pull the plug. It slows down.. alot. On my Sager if you pull the plug same thing happens. And thats without the 3rd party power management software. 

So his post isn't incorrect . Just like yours. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: x2 XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

Statistics
88766 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.