Topic Title: AMD 6650M Driver not being recognised by AMD software
Topic Summary: This includes the Catalyst Control Center
Created On: 06/05/2013 11:25 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/05/2013 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lemoncreme
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/05/2013

I am having this frustrating problem where AMD software does not recognise that I have AMD graphics drivers installed on my laptop. The weird thing is that it used to work; and I used to be able to use the CCC.

 

Details:

 

Graphics Card

  • AMD Radeon HD 6650M
  • No overclocking
  • My device manager under "Display adapters" says I have "Intel(R) HD Graphics Family" as a driver as well.

 

 


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

  • I installed a beta version AMD graphics driver once, but uninstalled it. (I think)


Operating System

  • Windows 7 Home Premium  (64 bit)


Issue Details

  • Driver not being recognized by AMD software such as the CCC.
  • The error message upon trying to open the CCC is "No AMD graphics driver is installed, or the AMD driveris not functioning properly. Please install the AMD driver appropriate for your AMD hardware."
  • Pictures:


All other info you could possibly need

 

 

 06/05/2013 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

It looks like you have installed or tried to install several drivers...some times it's 32bit, and sometimes 64bit. You should try a clean install, getting rid of the incorrect drivers. Depending on the laptop model, you may have to use the bios to disable the intergrated graphics...your laptop manufacturer will be able to tell you. You also need to go to Intel support and use the Intel driver tool to check for updates > http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect     ... clean install >

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y

Once you have the Intel updates, and cleaned your system of AMD software, you can try to install the new drivers from here > http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx

Make sure your netframework is version 4.5...as mentioned in the 'clean install' link.

If all this doesn't work, get the latest drivers offered by the laptop manufacturer and be happy. Or, you can use the Leshcat modded drivers..a link to which is listed in this forum.

The first thing you should do, however, is read the big sticky 'updating mobility graphics' > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=161340&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/05/2013 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lemoncreme
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/05/2013

I will try that! I'm not sure about navigating the BIOS, though. I can do everything else.

 

EDIT: Went to Acer's website, found my model but it did not list any grpahics drivers, only drivers for things I don't need. 

EDIT: Uninstalled all AMD stuff, the went to Intel link. It says:

"A customized computer manufacturer driver is installed on your computer. The Intel Driver Update Utility is not able to update the driver. Installing a generic Intel driver instead of the customized computer manufacturer driver may cause technical issues. Contact yourcomputer manufacturer for the latest driver for your computer"

EDIT: Re-installed the AMD driver. Where can I download the Catalyst Control Center?



Edited: 06/05/2013 at 03:28 PM by Lemoncreme
 06/05/2013 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

It's included with the driver suite.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/05/2013 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lemoncreme
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/05/2013

Originally posted by: stumped It's included with the driver suite.

 

 

Well I don't have it. I installed the drivers, but I don't have the CCC.

 06/05/2013 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

I don't know why you can't find the drivers from Acer...I can. Here they are > http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/05/2013 04:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lemoncreme
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/05/2013

Originally posted by: stumped I don't know why you can't find the drivers from Acer...I can. Here they are > http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers

 

 

Oh. I seemed to have missed the VGA section.

So what should I do now?

 06/05/2013 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Install them? ...and you did check your netframework version didn't you?

Repeat > ""

Make sure your netframework is version 4.5...as mentioned in the 'clean install' link.

If all this doesn't work, get the latest drivers offered by the laptop manufacturer and be happy. Or, you can use the Leshcat modded drivers..a link to which is listed in this forum."" un-repeat



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/05/2013 06:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lemoncreme
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/05/2013

It's working now. Thanks!

Statistics
88769 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.