Topic Title: 20-25fps on a $1300 machine?
Topic Summary: do i need to call sony about this?
Created On: 07/09/2013 02:35 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/09/2013 02:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
snowleopard
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/09/2013

Hi.

I spent a fair amount of money to get a good notebook pc to game with.

intel i7-3632QM processor
1TB hd
16GB memory
dual graphics card: intel 4000 & amd radeon HD 7670M (2GB)

i have my machine set to run on performance, which runs the AMD card.
the best frame-rate i can get peaks at ~27.0fps when playing tribes ascend, a FirstPersonShooter.

at lowest graphics setting i get ~27, at highest i get ~20; texture quality does not affect my framerate.

is this normal? other ppl get 100+ fps, is my gear that bad?
can i fix it with amd tools? if so which ones?
do i need to contact Sony for maintenance?



-------------------------
 07/09/2013 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7170
Joined: 11/13/2009

Well, Tribes' minimum suggested graphics is a AMD 3870 and it's recommended graphics is a AMD 6950. If you use PassMark results as a yardstick it would look like this


ATI 3870     ATI 7670M    ATI 6950
score 749    score 838    score 3,175

So you just barely meet the minimum and nowhere near the suggested. Enable verticle sync and set everything to low is probably all you can do. The 7670 is not a gaming card.

edit: video cards benchmarks



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/09/2013 04:19 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12330
Joined: 04/17/2008

The HD 6950 has 2253 Gflops of single precision computing power, whereas the HD 7670M has 576 Gflops of single precision computing power, or roughly 25% of a HD 6950, which is reflected in the passmark scores stumped linked. Also that is a 2.2ghz mobile processor, not to much stronger than the minimum requirement of a 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo.

So those "other people" you are talking about, are you sure they are not using something such as a desktop class i7 at 4.5hz and a desktop HD 7970 Ghz?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/10/2013 01:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
snowleopard
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/09/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion The HD 6950 has 2253 Gflops of single precision computing power, whereas the HD 7670M has 576 Gflops of single precision computing power, or roughly 25% of a HD 6950, which is reflected in the passmark scores stumped linked. Also that is a 2.2ghz mobile processor, not to much stronger than the minimum requirement of a 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo. So those "other people" you are talking about, are you sure they are not using something such as a desktop class i7 at 4.5hz and a desktop HD 7970 Ghz?
They're on desktops, I wasn't aware the disparity was as great as it is.

Can i purchase a laptop gaming card, or is the only viable solution moving to desktop?
Was discussing with some friends about bridging a desktop card into the notebook with an extention connection, but I probably don't have the skills to do that myself and I guess it's hard to find one unless you know somebody.



-------------------------
 07/10/2013 09:16 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12330
Joined: 04/17/2008

You can't upgrade the graphics chip in that laptop no. There have been various external graphics products but none have really...worked, as the fastest common port, USB 3.0, is only 5gbps, and Thunderbolt is only 10gbps, vs the minimum required for a powerful desktop card, PCIe 2.0 x8 at 40gbps.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/10/2013 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7170
Joined: 11/13/2009

ATI dabbled in the external graphics solution at one time, I haven't heard or read anything about it for a few years. A google search 'external graphics for laptops' gives you several current options. I am not saying they are ideal solutions, but should give you better performance than you have now.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 07/10/2013 at 03:28 PM by stumped
 07/10/2013 03:46 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12330
Joined: 04/17/2008

Although if you can return that laptop fee free and buy another one that has a 7870M or 7970M, then that's a better option.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/10/2013 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
snowleopard
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/09/2013

my only concern is my processor wont be able to keep up, but i'm sure than could be upgraded as well if i can upgrade the gpu.

thanks stumped, i understand what you mean and i'll look around. if i can improve my fps by 10 that would be enough to upgrade my settings from low to medium (or possibly even high) which makes the game much more interesting to look at; while it may not be ideal like a desktop platform it might be just enough to solve my problem.

i'll check with sony, zion, that would be the simplest way to upgrade; though i got an excellent deal on this model when i purchased it compared to other models of similar price - considering the hardware offered. ideally i keep the laptop and build a desktop over time to game on; for now i'm just looking to boost my framerate (a little). Tribes runs smoothly with fps 30+.



-------------------------
Statistics
84673 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.