Topic Title: Catalyst Control center stops working(host error)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/28/2013 03:21 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/28/2013 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rough_edges
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/28/2013

I recently purchased a hp envy m6 with windows 8. when i first loaded it up ccc was working fine and i had no trouble in installing programmes and games on the laptop. After a few days ccc just came up with a host application error message, which meant i couldn't access ccc at all. The only way I fixed it was by restoring windows back to its original factory settings, after that ccc displayed the same message after one day. I have now restored windows twice and am starting to get tired  of it. Any suggestions on how to fix this problem. I have an ati 7670 2Gb CPU and a HP HD 4000 GPU

 08/28/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

..and what did HP have to say about it? Do you have their drivers installed, or did you try to install drivers from AMD.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/28/2013 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

You need to do a Windows 8 refresh and only use the drivers from HP website.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/28/2013 04:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rough_edges
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/28/2013

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr You need to do a Windows 8 refresh and only use the drivers from HP website.

 

 

So don't use CCC at all?

What do i use then to control the output of the graphic card?

 

 08/28/2013 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rough_edges
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/28/2013

Originally posted by: stumped ..and what did HP have to say about it? Do you have their drivers installed, or did you try to install drivers from AMD.

 

I thought it would be a windows or amd problem and not a hp problem.

 08/29/2013 09:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: rough_edges
Originally posted by: stumped ..and what did HP have to say about it? Do you have their drivers installed, or did you try to install drivers from AMD.

 

I thought it would be a windows or amd problem and not a hp problem.

You have a new computer. It has issues. HP is the place to go. That is, of course, if you haven't done anything to cause it. I suggest you read the sticky at the top of this forum "Updating Mobility drivers". Especially the part about 'switchable/dual graphics.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
84170 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.