Topic Title: HELP!! No Backlight After Startup Completion with New Driver Update, I need the old driver please!!!
Topic Summary: I need the previous driver linked to me please.
Created On: 09/19/2013 09:45 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/19/2013 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shpati
Peon

Posts: 40
Joined: 10/01/2009

Hi, I updated my ATI driver and the screen went black. The screen was there, but there was just no backlight. I saw that there were some error messages. So I had to restart. Same issue. The thing is though, I get a backlight on safe mode or when the laptop is starting up. I just get no backlight right before it gets to the blue welcome loading screen on regular mode. I can still use the computer with an external display though. I just cannot use my laptop monitor in regular mode because it has no backlight right before the blue welcome screen.

I am using Windows 7 64bit

ATI Mobility HD 5730

ASUS Laptop

The previous driver was working fine, so can someone link that one to me???I do not know how to install older drivers.

All I know was that it was released in late May for me.

The one I tried to download and update that didnt work was released yesterday

Also, how should I uninstall this ATI driver? I do not see it in the control panel.

EDIT: Also, I think it is a driver/software issue, because I can still use an external dispaly, plus, as soon as I restart my computer, I get backlight during the startup. 



-------------------------


Edited: 09/19/2013 at 09:54 PM by Shpati
 09/19/2013 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

I would download the previous driver you where using and follow the un-install and install directions found here. Follow it by O/S Windows 7.

Un-Install:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU57RemoveOldGraphicsDrivers.aspx#Win8

Install:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/InstallCatalystDriversForWindows.aspx

 

 



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/20/2013 06:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Shpati laptop

Use the drivers provided by the laptop manufacturer as said in every tutorial, sticky, driver download page, kb article and a million threads here.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/20/2013 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shpati
Peon

Posts: 40
Joined: 10/01/2009

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr I would download the previous driver you where using and follow the un-install and install directions found here. Follow it by O/S Windows 7.

Un-Install:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU57RemoveOldGraphicsDrivers.aspx#Win8

Install:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/InstallCatalystDriversForWindows.aspx

 

 

luckily, I had a restore point created a day before. That fixed the issue.

 

That was a little scary. Why would the graphics driver alter the backlight?



-------------------------
 09/20/2013 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12878
Joined: 04/17/2008

Because AMD provides only a generic driver for laptops, and as each is different, the use of non OEM provided drivers can cause loss of functionality.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/20/2013 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shpati
Peon

Posts: 40
Joined: 10/01/2009

eydee and blackzion,

I have to use the drivers from the ATI driver. I know you guys probably don't like it when people use these drivers for laptops, but in my case I have to.

if I use the drivers from the laptop manufacturer website, the screen goes black randomly when playing world of Warcraft. I spoke to tech support, and they said it was because my drivers were way out of the date (the Asus ones) and they said I had to use the ATI drivers. I did, and problem was solved.

 

Honestly, I think ATI says to use the laptop drivers just so they are not liable for these gpus if something goes wrong.



-------------------------
 09/26/2013 08:37 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

I have the same graphics in my Asus laptop. I am using the latest Beta and it works great. Try them....download from here http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/downloads.aspx

Some people are reporting the 13.9 breaks their netframework.....make sure you have version 4.5 and check windows update for further downloads.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 09/26/2013 01:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shpati
Peon

Posts: 40
Joined: 10/01/2009

Originally posted by: stumped I have the same graphics in my Asus laptop. I am using the latest Beta and it works great. Try them....download from here http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/downloads.aspx

 

Some people are reporting the 13.9 breaks their netframework.....make sure you have version 4.5 and check windows update for further downloads.

 

Yea, I tried that one. I have 4.5 and updated.

 

I noticed that the backlight even during a reinstallation of 13.4, but comes back on and works after a restart.

13.9 or this 13.10 gives me no backlight after a restart.

I met someone on the NotebookReview forum who has the same issue as me and has the same laptop as me (ASUS N61JQ)


EDIT: Actually, on the link you posted when I go to this driver:

 

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win8-64.aspx

It says it is a desktop driver, and when I click to install it just to see what it will update, it says everything "It is installed and up to date" except for the HDMI audio driver.

 

But if I actually use the mobility drivers by directing myself from the AMD homepage,

 

I get here:

 

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonmob_win7-64.aspx

 

And when I install that one, it looks like it actually updates some stuff.

 

So the drivers here:

 

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/downloads.aspx

 

Those drivers just say I need to update my HDMI audio driver and everything else is fine.

You should try downloading the drivers from here:

 

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonmob_win7-64.aspx

 

And tell me if you get it to work. 



-------------------------


Edited: 09/26/2013 at 06:12 PM by Shpati
 10/07/2013 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
andythefan
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/07/2013

Shpati,

 

I'm having the same problem. I have an ASUS N61 as well. Were you able to fix your display? 

Statistics
87466 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.