Topic Title: AMD graphic card not regognized by Catalyst
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/22/2013 02:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/22/2013 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gionini
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/19/2013

Hi,
I've recently bought a notebook HP ENVY m6, with an AMD Radeon HD 7670m graphic card. Windows 8 is installed as os.
Since the beginning I've noticed very poor performances on videogames.
Searching for a cause, I've noticed that programs uses the integrated Intel HD 4000 instead of the AMD one.

Serching further, I've noticed that even if both graphic cards are correctly installed, Catalyst don't recognizes the AMD one.

I've tried several solutions found on different forums, like update drivers or change the configuration of the switchable graphics into "high performance", but nothing changed.

Is that a software or a hardware issue?
What could I do to fix it?
Thanks in advance

 09/23/2013 05:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7851
Joined: 11/13/2009

Each laptop manufacturer has different ways to select the 'high performance' graphics. Some HP's have a bios setting to disable the intergrated graphics...some do not. You need to contact HP support and ask them about your particular model. You can find the HP support site here ....."installing Mobility Drivers". 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 09/23/2013 09:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gionini
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/19/2013

I've contacted HP tech support, but they said that since the card appears on "device manager" with no errors it isn't a hardware issue, but it's Catalyst's fault...

 09/23/2013 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7851
Joined: 11/13/2009

First, go back to HP support and install the latest graphics drivers for your model. Do you have your power set to high performance?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 09/23/2013 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gionini
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/19/2013

I've already did it several times, but without results.

On “power saving options” the profile is set on “high performance”, but still with no effect. 

 09/23/2013 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7851
Joined: 11/13/2009

There have been many users who have asked this question in the past. You can read through the forum for solutions, or ask HP Envy owners what they did to solve this issue in the HP Envy support forum. When you find the answer, report back to help other users.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 09/23/2013 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7851
Joined: 11/13/2009

...and another thought. Make sure you have the latest bios...check HP support and drivers. Open the bios and switch the graphics setting from "dynamic" to "fixed".



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

Statistics
88893 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.