Topic Title: Radeon 4100 - XP - No Brillance control
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/17/2013 11:19 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/17/2013 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Estam
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/17/2013

Toshiba L505D S5983, downgraded to XP for a friend. I understand Toshiba should support this problem, or maybe not, but have read everything I can get my hands on with no avail. I'm just hoping someone has heard of this problem before.

Installing Win 7 and installing the display drivers the Fn F6/F7 adjusts the brillance perfectly.

Installing Win XP SP3 and installing the display drivers from Toshiba (tried both US and Europe drivers) am unable to adjust the brillance level using Fn F6/F7 or any other method.

Can anyone shine any light on this subject.

Many thanks...

 11/17/2013 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

The FN keys are entirely toshiba's side of support, there is nothing in the AMD driver that remotely come close to touching the software function of the FN keys on laptops. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 11/17/2013 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Estam
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/17/2013

I was thinking that Toshiba has slipstreamed some of their own code to have the function keys operate with their model. Just hoping that someone might know what and why it's not in the ati/amd xp display driver         ......just seems to be in the Win 7 driver.

Thanks,


And as a quick note there is no other way of adjusting the brilliance levels on Win XP, unless I'm missing something ;-)

Statistics
84262 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.