Topic Title: ccc cannot be started. there are no settings that can be configured using CCC
Topic Summary: error when launching ccc
Created On: 11/18/2013 03:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/18/2013 03:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jtawfik96
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/18/2013

So i have tried so many ways to get the ccc to start working again as i wanted to customize its preformane regarding certain games that i play, but i never succeded into getiing it to work. It always says "ccc cannot be started. there are currently no settings that can be configured using CCC"  It worked when i had windows 7 but since i updated to windows 8 and later windows 8.1 it never worked again.

P.S. i have tried to download the new compatible drivers from the AMD website but it never worked, everytime i try its say download failed (i have no clue why it does that)

 11/18/2013 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4283
Joined: 12/27/2008

What hardware do you have?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 11/18/2013 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Almost always, if CCC is loading but not offering any features/functions it is because the driver did not install. This would be the outcome of two things:

  1. The customer is installing a Catalyst Driver package that is not compatible with their product.
  2. The driver uninstall/install procedures did not function correctly.  Typically, it's the uninstall that does not get done correctly and that leads to a bad driver install.

As Eydee asked, we need to know the specs of your system.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this do*****ent is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/18/2013 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4283
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Marc@AMD Almost always, if CCC is loading but not offering any features/functions it is because the driver did not install. This would be the outcome of two things:

 

  1. The customer is installing a Catalyst Driver package that is not compatible with their product.
  2. The driver uninstall/install procedures did not function correctly.  Typically, it's the uninstall that does not get done correctly and that leads to a bad driver install.
As Eydee asked, we need to know the specs of your system.

 

;Marc

 

3. Windows Update not recognizing the driver and auto-downgrading. It's a possibility as well if automatic driver updates are enabled. It is enabled by default on 8.1 as far as I know.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 11/18/2013 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jtawfik96
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/18/2013

Hi i am currently running windows 8.1, on a dell inspiron 14z ultrabook with an AMD Radeon HD 7570M

I never really messed up with the original ccc that came installed in my laptop  until it started not working anymore. 

 11/18/2013 07:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6094
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: jtawfik96 Hi i am currently running windows 8.1, on a dell inspiron 14z ultrabook with an AMD Radeon HD 7570M

I never really messed up with the original ccc that came installed in my laptop  until it started not working anymore. 

This is why there is a sticky "PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING"...you have a laptop..and you are posting in the Desktop forum. Your issue is totally different than a desktop..that's why there is a Laptop forum. Go there andread the sticky "Updating Mobility Drivers"..then go to the laptop manufacturers support site and download the graphics drivers for your model.

http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&flcache=2968358&entercat=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 11/18/2013 at 08:10 PM by stumped
Statistics
81012 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.