Topic Title: catalyst driver will not install
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/07/2013 01:58 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/07/2013 01:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scottyaim
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/07/2013

hello, recently reinstald windows 7 on my laptop. but when i boot my computer

the ati control center is not running and the laptop is running on the windows graphic system! every thing is blurry! i tried install the latest driver but i got

the error message: [Window Title]
C:\Users\scottyaim\AppData\Local\Temp\13-9_mobility_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql.exe

[Content]
The version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need an x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the software publisher.

[OK]

i am running on a 64 based windows 7 with sp1,

 

 12/07/2013 02:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7225
Joined: 11/13/2009

You need to read this first.  Updating Mobility Drivers

If your laptop is not one of the ones listed as incompatible..then post back with the make and model of your computer. Otherwise, do as suggested and go the manufacturer's laptop support/downloads and install the correct drivers for your laptop.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/07/2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Circuschmirc
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/07/2013

I have the same problem. JUst bought BF4 and it won't play without updating the drivers, but i get the same error message when I try. Just made an account to see if someone could help me figure it out. I have an Asus N61JQ laptop with the Radeion HD 5730.  I don't think the drivers have ever been updated. Took your initial advise and tried downloading them directly from asus, but the newest driver they have listed for this laptop is from 2010.  Doesn't seem to work out.  Any ideas? Thanks.

 12/07/2013 06:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7225
Joined: 11/13/2009

We've got the same graphics,,,I download my drivers from here . My Asus is too old to have all the fancy throttling gear the new ones do...and you can use AMD reference drivers. If you feel good about it, I would remove the old drivers using the control panel "uninstall a program" select AMD Install manager and express uninstall all AMD software including the installer. Reboot. Install the new driver suite. Make sure you have all the Windows updates..especilly net frameworks. This is one of the biggest error people make when reinstalling a OS.

edit: disabling core parking really helps with this set-up. Here is the information...just use the tool   HERE



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 12/07/2013 at 06:47 PM by stumped
 12/07/2013 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Circuschmirc
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/07/2013

ill give that a shot, manually removing and installing the drivers.  Did that work for you with the latest drivers or do you run something older?

 12/07/2013 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7225
Joined: 11/13/2009

If used/tested them all. I didn't like ver 9.4 or .5. The best on my laptop is version 9.2. Here is a list of all the different versions  use the drop down for "show all versions". But don't forget the core parking....it really makes a difference.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/07/2013 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Circuschmirc
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/07/2013

I should be using the mobility catalyst though right? 

 12/07/2013 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7225
Joined: 11/13/2009

I just use the regular ones.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/07/2013 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Circuschmirc
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/07/2013

So when I install the new drivers, the screen resolution changes and it is no longer adjustable until i revert back to the old driver. Either that or I can't login unless i'm in safe mode.  Since you run the same system as me, have you had any similar problems? Thanks so much the responses.

 12/08/2013 05:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scottyaim
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/07/2013

ok my computer is not listed as a unsupported device.  my model is an asus G73J,

 12/08/2013 11:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7225
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: scottyaim ok my computer is not listed as a unsupported device.  my model is an asus G73J,

The suggestion I gave the OP is the way I update my drivers for this laptop. It works for me. First make sure that you are fully updated from Windows update...go there and manually download any "optional" downloads (except graphics drivers). Then follow the uninstall/install method listed above. Install these beta drivers.

The one thing I didn't mention...this is not my first Asus laptop, experience is a great teacher. I deleted all..ALL...Asus management tools except for Splendid....ie Power-For-Gear, etc. I also disabled any ULPS and core parking. (these links have a simple tool...turn off or on).



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
84880 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.