Topic Title: AMD Wireless Display setup issue
Topic Summary: no link at Project page for HP Win8.1 AMD CPU/GPU laptop
Created On: 01/29/2014 11:58 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/29/2014 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

I just got HP Pavilion 17-e048ca Notebook PC with Windows 8, and I upgrade it to Window 8.1. also connected with second monitor with VGA cable. the PC with AMD CPU (A10-5750M) and video card (AMD Radeon HD 8650G), Ralink RT3290 wifi adapter. I assume it is Miracast ready.

Now I am trying to setup wireless display with my Netgear Push2TV PTV3000. Here is the issue.

1: I can't see "Add a Wireless Display" at the Project window, it only give me 4 options for Project to a connected screen.

2: I can't remove the second screen settings, even I unplug the external monitor. I thought if remove the wired screen setting as second screen, then the wireless display option may be back.

3: I did use "Add Device" in control panel added the Push2TV, and got pairing page, and at PC side the device is showing in the device list. But HDTV side is not mirroring, it is back to the "Ready for connection" page.

should I remove the second screen settings first? if my PC is Miracast ready? how to get this wireless display working?

Thanks for any help.

 01/30/2014 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

for anyone has same issue, AMD has this artice: http://www.amd.com/us/products/technologies/Pages/amd-wireless-display.aspx

If You Have Windows 8.1, You Already Have It

AMD Wireless Display comes already installed with Microsoft Windows 8.1, so you can start sharing right away. It’s just one of the many ways that AMD and Microsoft are working together to bring you incredible, new experiences. Check out our Microsoft technology partnership page to see how AMD APUs are helping to accelerate the Windows 8.1 experience

 01/30/2014 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

I did scan new device under "PC and Devices"> "Devices" , and get PTV3000 pairing through, and PTV was added under "Other Devices", but in 2 seconds, it despaired from the list. (I still can see it under Control Panel > Devices & Printers) 

Any help you can is greatly appreciated.

 

 01/30/2014 08:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

you may get more information from my post at HP amd Microsoft:

For me I think AMD/HP/Microsoft should work gotether to get this fixed.

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Wireless-Internet-Home-Networking/Is-Miracast-ready-for-HP-laptop-with-Win8-1-AMD-CPU-GPU/td-p/3418371

and

 

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windows/en-US/3120baac-241f-434a-bce0-41174f7de3d2/cant-see-add-a-wireless-display?forum=w8itprogeneral

 01/30/2014 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

I spent hours to test this thing. Here is what I find:

1: power on the laptop with no external monitor. but the previously connect monitor P206HV is still in the list of Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Display\Screen Resolution, but the monitor is dimmed

2: scan and pairing the PTV3000. (appeared in the Other devices for just 2 seconds)

3: back to the Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Display\Screen Resolution, and now the second screen is available, but the name is not PTV3000, IT IS P206HV !

I confirm it is a bug for Win8.1. while the 2nd monitor removed, the configuration information is kept. when a different monitor added, Win8.1 mess around those configuration profile. 

hope it can be easily and quickly fixed.

You may find the screenshot at hp site: http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Wireless-Internet-Home-Networking/Is-Miracast-ready-for-HP-laptop-with-Win8-1-AMD-CPU-GPU/m-p/3445069/highlight/false#M57805

 01/31/2014 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

some observations:

 

PTV driver is not new.

PTV is not connected, even available.

the event view copy for PTV3000:

Device SWD\WiFiDirect\2a:c6:8e:ca:53:3b was configured.

Driver Name: c_swdevice.inf
Class Guid: {62f9c741-b25a-46ce-b54c-9bccce08b6f2}
Driver Date: 06/21/2006
Driver Version: 6.3.9600.16384
Driver Provider: Microsoft
Driver Section: SoftwareDevice
Driver Rank: 0xFF3000
Matching Device Id: SWD\GenericRaw
Outranked Drivers:
Device Updated: false

 

 

Log Name: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-PnP/Configuration
Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-PnP
Date: 2014-01-30 9:53:06 PM
Event ID: 400
Task Category: None
Level: Information
Keywords:
User: SYSTEM
Computer: xxxxxxxxxx
Description:
Device SWD\WiFiDirect\2a:c6:8e:ca:53:3b was configured.

Driver Name: c_swdevice.inf
Class Guid: {62f9c741-b25a-46ce-b54c-9bccce08b6f2}
Driver Date: 06/21/2006
Driver Version: 6.3.9600.16384
Driver Provider: Microsoft
Driver Section: SoftwareDevice
Driver Rank: 0xFF3000
Matching Device Id: SWD\GenericRaw
Outranked Drivers:
Device Updated: false
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-PnP" Guid="{9C205A39-1250-487D-ABD7-E831C6290539}" />
<EventID>400</EventID>
<Version>0</Version>
<Level>4</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Opcode>0</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x2000000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2014-01-31T02:53:06.458710200Z" />
<EventRecordID>645</EventRecordID>
<Correlation />
<Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8680" />
<Channel>Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-PnP/Configuration</Channel>
<Computer>xxxxxxxxxx</Computer>
<Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data Name="DeviceInstanceId">SWD\WiFiDirect\2a:c6:8e:ca:53:3b</Data>
<Data Name="DriverName">c_swdevice.inf</Data>
<Data Name="ClassGuid">{62F9C741-B25A-46CE-B54C-9BCCCE08B6F2}</Data>
<Data Name="DriverDate">06/21/2006</Data>
<Data Name="DriverVersion">6.3.9600.16384</Data>
<Data Name="DriverProvider">Microsoft</Data>
<Data Name="DriverInbox">true</Data>
<Data Name="DriverSection">SoftwareDevice</Data>
<Data Name="DriverRank">0xff3000</Data>
<Data Name="MatchingDeviceId">SWD\GenericRaw</Data>
<Data Name="OutrankedDrivers">
</Data>
<Data Name="DeviceUpdated">false</Data>
<Data Name="Status">0x0</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

 02/04/2014 08:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

 

My concern of mis-mounted PTV3000 as Generic Software device, please watch the video, and tell me if it make a case? thanks.

http://youtu.be/DdIKYihGBDs

 02/09/2014 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ceraf
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/09/2014

I'm assuming you already tried updating to the latest AMD display driver (either on the HP website, or the newest mobile one on AMD's website) and likely updated to the latest BIOS for your particular laptop model.

 

Since you're not seeing the "Add a wireless display" under Charms->Devices->Project even with just the laptop display, I would suspect one of these two things:

1) The Ralink RT3290 Wifi adapter may not have the Miracast-enabled drivers installed, or may not support Miracast at all...would have to look this up.

2) HP may have chosen to not enable wireless display for your particular laptop model. Technically it should be very easy for them to flip the switch to support it. 

 

What I would do is ask HP directly if they have successfully connected a Miracast display using this specific laptop model. I believe that at the end of the day, it's up to the laptop manufacturers whether they want to enable and support the wireless display feature on their laptops.

 02/10/2014 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

Hi Ceraf,

Thank you for your post.

Great point you made.

1, with Win8.1 it is NDIS6.40 and isi Miracast ready driver, amd RT3290 is NDIS6.40 with version 5.0.37. I assume they are ready. even I did not verify with MediaTEK.

2: I assume AMD APU support Miracast and the driver is miracast ready, you may help me to confirma that, please.

3: the only thing is HP side, they never give me any clear message why the missing "Add a Wirelss Display"? it is the whole laptop they made!!

One Thing I want to point out that, when I add PTV3000 as a device, even it has issues, but in registry, I saw it is created under WiFiDirect. So it tells the all things should be here, but some point was blocked, AMD/HP/MedaiTek/Microsoft.

 

 02/19/2014 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ceraf
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/09/2014

I managed to get my hands on a similar laptop (HP Envy M6-k088ca, which has the AMD A10-5745m along with the Ralink RT3290 Wifi adapter).

Using a fresh copy of Windows 8.1 64-bit, I installed all the drivers listed on the HP website for my particular laptop model, including the AMD graphics driver and the Mediatek/Ralink Wifi adapter driver. I was immediately able to connect to a Miracast wireless display by going to Charms -> Devices -> Project -> Add a wireless display. I didn't have to touch the registry at all to get this working.

Try uninstalling the current AMD display driver and Wifi driver, and then reinstall the latest ones from the HP website.

 02/20/2014 01:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

Hi Ceraf, Thanks you. I will try it again. but the clearn uninstall drivers under WIN8, is not convincing.

Another major difference is I upgrade from Win8 to 8.1, not fresh WIN8.1, so hard to mimic your result. But I will try.

 

 02/20/2014 05:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

Hi Ceraf,

Thank you so much, you give me a real solution. I made it.

Question for you. at day time, I need to connect to a second monitor with DVI, at home I want to use wireless display.

Do you think my current wireless display cofiguration will maintain after physically connect to 2nd monitor? or the second monitor connection will have problen tomorrow?

 

 

 02/20/2014 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ceraf
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/09/2014

Normally, if the drivers are functioning properly, there shouldn't be a problem with connecting/disconnecting different displays, including wireless displays.

Let me know if you run into any issues.

 02/23/2014 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chris2020
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/29/2014

Hi Ceraf,

tried Neflix and youtube, set audio to PTV, will crash the connection.

Other that that, it is working properly.

 

 

Statistics
86517 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.