Topic Title: cant update 14.1 drivers properly
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/02/2014 06:28 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/02/2014 06:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wa1m4n
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/02/2014

Hi,

 

I have MSI GX60 with HD8970M and A10-6750M and i was looking forward to 14.1 coz im in group that had been promissed big performance incerease with new AMD mantle in BF4.

 

I have windows 7 64, but when i install 14.1 drivers and open control center and software info it says its 13.2 and in BF4 i dont see option for API chance so i guess its something wrong with driver uptade. Ive tryed 3x reinstal and still same result. I tryed even desktop driver. Tryed step by step by your unninstaling and instaling manual and still same.

 

Any help please ?

 

Thank you

 02/02/2014 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
parimikk
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/02/2014

Hi,

same problem here. MSI GX70 3be A10-5750m and HD8970m win 8.

 02/03/2014 01:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
devinator12
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/03/2014

Likewise. It was a bloody nightmare! Darn thing stopped pretty much everything in its track (Explorer, Origin, eccetera)

 

Windows 8.1

Alienware M18xR2

 

Everything upto date.

 

Edit: i would like to take the opertunity to mention that the link to the 13.11 9.5 beta (Windows) driver on this page http://support.amd.com/en-us/Pages/catalyst-hotfixes.aspx redirects to the 14.1 driver!



Edited: 02/03/2014 at 01:27 AM by devinator12
 02/04/2014 06:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3mranshaker
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/04/2014

same problem here, i am using 8670m with an i5 processor windows 8

 02/04/2014 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
asmithdev
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/04/2014

Mobile does not appear to be supported at this time, it seems to be a reoccuring theme when it comes to Nvidia or AMD, desktop cards get features that the mobile cards can support (same architecture/hardware) while mobile gets left behind. Example, I have a laptop with an i7 and gtx660m, kepler architecture has the same hardware decoder as the desktop kepler cards but doesn't get support for shadowplay or shield streaming. Similarly amd seems to be ignoring mobile users for mantle support.

 02/05/2014 12:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jetwash
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/05/2014

Yep another GX70 user same issue bit annoying really

 02/05/2014 02:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jarafath
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/05/2014

Today i've installed amd_catalyst_14.1_mobility_betav1.6

But in control center it says Catalyst Version is 13.12

Now i dont know how to update to 14.1 but the gaming performance is increased 

I have HD8750m and i played BF4 on Medium Settings but now even if i set Graphics to High The game runs smooth without any lag.

 

 02/05/2014 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7253
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: jarafath Today i've installed amd_catalyst_14.1_mobility_betav1.6

 

But in control center it says Catalyst Version is 13.12

 

Now i dont know how to update to 14.1 but the gaming performance is increased 

 

I have HD8750m and i played BF4 on Medium Settings but now even if i set Graphics to High The game runs smooth without any lag.

 

 

 

It's been covered several times here in the forum....there is a bug in the installer. Same bug that was in 13.12. It will use whatever version you updated from as the current version. You have the correct/current version, but if it bugs you then there is a post somewhere about how to manually change the version number in the registry.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/05/2014 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wa1m4n
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/02/2014

But i still cant change my API to mantle in BF4 but i think ive got all requirements. Next core GPU(8970M), Win 7 64, 14.1 drivers... if its bug why it doesnt work then?

 02/05/2014 04:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7253
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: wa1m4n But i still cant change my API to mantle in BF4 but i think ive got all requirements. Next core GPU(8970M), Win 7 64, 14.1 drivers... if its bug why it doesnt work then?

 

You mean why it doesn't work for you. Who knows...have you read all this? http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=171493&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/05/2014 07:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wa1m4n
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/02/2014

 

 

You mean why it doesn't work for you. Who knows...have you read all this? http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=171493&enterthread=y

 

 

Okay can u help me a little here please then.

 

How can i check if my driver is really 14.1 if it shows 13.2.

And can u please check if my HW is compatible with that mantle then, im really confused about those marks and things and dont even know if that support mobility HW yet.

 

MSI GX60 with HD 8970M, A10-5750M, win 7 64

 

Thank you

 

 02/05/2014 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jetwash
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/05/2014

Another issue for me is that when I did update to 14.1 drivers (although as stumped said it still said 13.12), I was unable to enable mantle in the settings. Also my computer stopped switching back to its on board gpu when in low use during other applications, so i also had the fans running quite hard also.

 

GX70

 02/05/2014 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7253
Joined: 11/13/2009

I would check with your laptop manufacturer for a driver update. Maybe check to see if there is a bios update as well.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
85724 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.