Topic Title: Using a Toshiba laptop with mobile APU... any way to get 14.1?
Topic Summary: I want it. Now.
Created On: 02/25/2014 05:49 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/25/2014 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FourZer0
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/25/2014

As a gamer with a pretty bad laptop, I was really exited when I heard about 14.1 and mantle, but then I realized Toshiba opted out of driver updates. Is there any way to install it anyway? I was reading about mobility beta drivers and Toshiba opting out, and it said something like " If you experience difficulty while using the generic AMD Catalyst Mobility drivers, we recommend reverting to the driver provided by your notebook vendor. Please contact your notebook vendor for their most recent graphics drivers."... That means I can use generic ones, right? It says "experience difficulty" but I'm completely okay with that. I have a clean install of windows 8.1 x64 including the windows bootloader, not the Toshiba one. Thanks for any reply.

 02/25/2014 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7269
Joined: 11/13/2009

Nope. You can't use generic drivers...which is what AMD offers. This is Toshiba's decision. There are modded drivers out there and ways around Toshiba's lock. Google it.

UPDATING MOBILITY DRIVERS



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/25/2014 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FourZer0
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/25/2014

Thanks! Definitely will be trying a modded driver.

 02/25/2014 07:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7269
Joined: 11/13/2009

Guru 3D has some nice ideas...

http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=46



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
86369 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.