Topic Title: Asus laptop black screen
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/30/2014 11:39 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/30/2014 11:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

The 14.4 did not fix it. Everyone needs to report it > HERE < if you are having this issue. If enough of us do, there is a chance for a fix.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/05/2014 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

Here is a possible fix for the Asus laptop black screen issue. This is mainly for AMD graphics that does not have Intel intergrated graphics.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9MUsPAEohk



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/23/2014 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Djuganight
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/23/2014

Hello,

Yesterday I had to format my notebook:

Asus N61Jq
Intel core i7
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
ATI Mobility Radeon HD5730

After format and install the OS I downloaded the latest CCC drivers 14.4 and after install them the computer reboots, as usual, but boots with the screen completly black or its turned off I don't know.

I have tried downloading the 14.6 Beta and the same problem.

If I connect the notebook to my LCD TV via HDMI cable I have image without any problem

Its just in the notebook screen I can't make it to work.

Is there any solution for this?

Thanks.

 06/23/2014 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Could it be an os conflict issue ?

Has anyone tried the 14.4 on w8 or w8.1 ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/23/2014 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Djuganight
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/23/2014

could be, I don't know.

I endup trying several versions and noticed that up to 13.4 its fine.

From 13.4 onwards all give black screen after reboot.

Therefore I have to stay on 13.4 version

 06/23/2014 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

Yes....its a issue with Asus laptops. The latest driver that will work correctly is the 13.4. Fill out and send to AMD a issue report.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/23/2014 02:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Djuganight
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/23/2014

Hi,

Just send the report this morning but since this is an issues that has been present since many previous version, I don't believe they will pay any attention to it.

ATI drivers are extremely problematic compared with Nvidia...

 06/23/2014 02:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

The problem is that nobody fills out and sends in the issue reports. One or two people reporting the same issue is not enough. They think that by coming to the AMD gaming forum and whining and crying is enough.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/23/2014 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Djuganight
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/23/2014

that is absolutly true.

I always report or try sending email to support.

This morning I report in the respective place.

 

 06/23/2014 06:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

I have even 'asked' Asus...what a joke. After all the explaining I did, they suggested I go to AMD and download the latest driver. I am using the 14.6 in my Asus, but use a external moniter so it doesn't matter...works perfect. Keep using the 13.4 until this is sorted out.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/23/2014 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Djuganight
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/23/2014

my words exactly.

they must have changed something from 13.4 onwards, but I'm sure its something simple because if I can get image on a extrenal monitor, in this case a LCD TV must be some kind of option...

I have been reading a lot and I find that is this a very common issue in many notebooks and with several graphoc cards and couldn't find solutions but I dir read a lot mentioning that these drivers appear to require an Intel (AMD-signed?) Switchable Graphics driver. what is this?



Edited: 06/23/2014 at 08:56 PM by Djuganight
 06/23/2014 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Djuganight my words exactly.

they must have changed something from 13.4 onwards, but I'm sure its something simple because if I can get image on a extrenal monitor, in this case a LCD TV must be some kind of option...

I have been reading a lot and I find that is this a very common issue in many notebooks and with several graphoc cards and couldn't find solutions but I dir read a lot mentioning that these drivers appear to require an Intel (AMD-signed?) Switchable Graphics driver. what is this?

No...the Intel drivers have nothing to do with it. My laptop does not have Intel or switchable drivers. It seems to affect Asus laptops only...I read a few (1 or 2) posts from people with HP laptops experiencing a dimming problem, but I chalk that up to user error. There is a fix/workaround for laptops with AMD processors and AMD graphics.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 06/23/2014 at 09:19 PM by stumped
 06/23/2014 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Djuganight
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/23/2014

this is not the same issue as the one we are discussing, blackscreen on the native screen of the notebook.

could it be bios related?

 06/23/2014 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Djuganight this is not the same issue as the one we are discussing, blackscreen on the native screen of the notebook.

could it be bios related?

No....this and a hundred other things have been looked into/tried. Things went south after the 13.4 drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/23/2014 09:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Djuganight
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/23/2014

one thing that I noticed, not long ago I updated my graphic drivers, a month or so, but my computer was with Windows 8 Pro x64.

This weekend I formated and reverted to windows 7 ultimate x64.

Resuming with windows 8 I always updated the drivers without any issue, normally using the automatic tool and now with windows 7 I can only use the CCC up to 13.4.

So:

new drivers + windows 8 x64 = OK

new drivers + windows 7 x 64 = no ok

The hardware was the same the only diference was the OS

 

 06/25/2014 01:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
poolborges
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/22/2014

I have same issue -  Black Screen (Brightness Adjustement)

My Laptop is a Asus X54H - K54LY

- Processor: i3-2330M
- Graphics: Radeon HD 6470M
- Mem: 4 GB
- OS: Windows 7 64Bit

I have report to "AMD Issue Reporting ..."

 06/25/2014 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

Make sure when reporting this, that you mention it's a Asus laptop.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/20/2014 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rich-n-tn
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/20/2014

Greetings,

I too am having blank / very dim screen issues with an Asus N71JQ Laptop with a fresh load of Win7 64bit and all updates. I reported the issue to AMD. Let's hope they generate a fix, which to me, would seem to be a minor correction on their part, as the 14.4 driver works great with my HDMI and VGA external interfaces. It runs WoW on high settings with no lag. Something that the 2010 driver from Asus cannot do! Crank up the gamma AMD.. PLEASE!

As a work around try the external video interfaces with 14.4, if you have the capability, until they have a fix. Unfortunately the 13.4 driver mentioned in this thread was a no-go for me. It would install the Catalyst software, HDMI interface driver, but would not detect my video card (Radeon HD5730). It showed up as "another amd device", in the logs. The AMD site was pretty useless as well as the only "previous driver" i could find was 13.12.

I also tried the clean installation procedures with DDU removal utility to no avail.

Like others have mentioned, if you're having issues, please report them to AMD! Strength in numbers!

Has anyone tried the youtube solution proposed by Stumped with any success?

Also considering Win 8.1 from Djuganight's post, but am not really exited about this option.

Thanks to all for your contributions!

 07/28/2014 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
noxscapes
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/28/2014

Hello everyone,

Do you have any news from AMD for this black screen problem ?

Or have you found a solution ?

(I have already notified my problem on amd website and fill the form.)

I have exactly the same problem from catalyst 13.4 onwards.

When I upgrade my driver to the 14.4 version, after restarting my notebook, I got a black screen right after the windows logo.

To be noted, everything is fine when I use an external screen under the 14.4 version.

Notebook Asus N71jq - win 7 64bits - Intel i7-720QM (1,6 GHz)

GPU : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730 (1Go)

 

Thanks !



-------------------------

Notebook ASUS N71jq - Windows 7 64-bit - CPU : Intel Core i7-720QM (1,6 GHz) - GPU : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730 (1Go)

 07/28/2014 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: noxscapes Hello everyone,

 

Do you have any news from AMD for this black screen problem ?

 

Or have you found a solution ?

 

(I have already notified my problem on amd website and fill the form.)

 

I have exactly the same problem from catalyst 13.4 onwards.

 

When I upgrade my driver to the 14.4 version, after restarting my notebook, I got a black screen right after the windows logo.

 

To be noted, everything is fine when I use an external screen under the 14.4 version.

 

Notebook Asus N71jq - win 7 64bits - Intel i7-720QM (1,6 GHz)

 

GPU : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730 (1Go)

 

 

 

Thanks !

 

No solution as of yet.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
84722 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.