Topic Title: Mobility Radeon HD 5470
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/08/2014 07:06 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/08/2014 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

Hi. I recently made a fresh windows install with all the windows updates.

Im running windows 7@64 bits Home prem SP1, my laptop is a Acer Aspire 5742G.

I downloaded the latest graphics driver available for my laptop from this link:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/mobile?os=Windows%207%20-%2064

I downloaded the 14.4 driver

It installed with no problems i just have one question: the interface of the catalyst control center its not equal to the interface  i had prior to the update (13.4 if i recall right) so im in doubt if i really have the 14.4 driver installed?

 

When i acess the catalyst control center it shows me this:

Driver version 8.741-100527a-101209C-Acer

2D Driver Version 8.01.01.1038
Catalyst™ Control Center Version 2010.0527.1242.20909
Are these the right numbers for the 14.4 drivers? Do i have the latest and the correct drivers installed for my laptop?
Thank you
 05/09/2014 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

Can anyone help?

 05/09/2014 07:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

I can't answer for a laptop version..but here's what mine reads

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/09/2014 07:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Read the release notes



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/10/2014 07:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

Thank you for your reply. I figured out what went wrong. I installed the update before i had the SP1 installed on the computer. Now that it is installed, when i try to install the update again it says that it is already updated and it wont install. What can i do in this situation?

 05/10/2014 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

You are just now installing SP1? In that case run Windows update again...install the optional/suggested updates before you do anything.

Read this  If your laptop is not one of the ones mentioned..and you don't have switchable graphics...then read this.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/10/2014 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

Well no luck for me...

I did all that, and when i installed the driver suit, the thing just installed too fast like nothing new had been installed or it was already installed. After i rebooted i couldnt even acess the catalyst control center, couldnt find it (usually i just right click on desktop and there is a shortcut to acess it) so i guess it didnt install. I think i might need to do a new fresh install of windows and then install the driver AFTER the sp1 is installed :\

 05/10/2014 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

Well no luck for me. I followed the steps but when i run the installer, the thing just installs too fast like nothing was installed / or it was already installed. I did the unistal from the control panel and i unistalled everything. After i reboot, i couldnt acess the catalyst control center (usually i just right click on desktop and there is a shortcut there). The installer didnt present any erros tho. So i dont know, i might have to do a new fresh windows install and install the driver suit after i install the service pack :\

 05/10/2014 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

My laptop is an Acer aspire. What i did was: i made a new fresh windows install, and then i installed some windows update (without the SP1) and then installed the drivers. After i installed the drivers i updated windows to the SP1

 05/10/2014 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: riotvan My laptop is an Acer aspire. What i did was: i made a new fresh windows install, and then i installed some windows update (without the SP1) and then installed the drivers. After i installed the drivers i updated windows to the SP1

 

There will be updates to SP1....you need them. You should have the Windows Update options to " show recommended updates" and " Microsoft updates" enabled. After you have completely updated, then do a clean install of the new drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/10/2014 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: riotvan My laptop is an Acer aspire. What i did was: i made a new fresh windows install, and then i installed some windows update (without the SP1) and then installed the drivers. After i installed the drivers i updated windows to the SP1

 

 

 

 

There will be updates to SP1....you need them. You should have the Windows Update options to " show recommended updates" and " Microsoft updates" enabled. After you have completely updated, then do a clean install of the new drivers.

 

 

Ok ill do that. Should i just run the clean uninstall utility and then install the drivers?

 05/10/2014 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: riotvan
Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: riotvan My laptop is an Acer aspire. What i did was: i made a new fresh windows install, and then i installed some windows update (without the SP1) and then installed the drivers. After i installed the drivers i updated windows to the SP1

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

There will be updates to SP1....you need them. You should have the Windows Update options to " show recommended updates" and " Microsoft updates" enabled. After you have completely updated, then do a clean install of the new drivers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ok ill do that. Should i just run the clean uninstall utility and then install the drivers?

 

Do not use the AMD clean install tool...there are issues.

 To perform a 'clean install' of AMD graphics drivers:

1. IMPORTANT: All Windows Updates should be current, including the 'optional/suggested' updates
2. IMPORTANT: Disable all anti-virus/ad blockers/anti-malware/ anti-anything before trying to install
3. IMPORTANT: Netframework is required and must be the latest version. (from Windows Update)

Create a system restore point before, just in caes.

Download the drivers for your computer to the desktop. Follow steps 1-5 ( http://support.amd.com/en-us/download ).
 Do not use 'auto-detect and install.

Delete existing drivers from your computer:

In computer control panel select 'uninstall a program'
For computers with Intel processors:
Select AMD install manager and choose 'express uninstall all AMD software'
Including the install manager.

For computers with AMD processors:
Select AMD install manager and 'custom uninstall' the graphics drivers and CCC only.

Reboot.

Install the new driver suite.

Reboot.

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/11/2014 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: riotvan
Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: riotvan My laptop is an Acer aspire. What i did was: i made a new fresh windows install, and then i installed some windows update (without the SP1) and then installed the drivers. After i installed the drivers i updated windows to the SP1

 

 

 

   

 

     

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

There will be updates to SP1....you need them. You should have the Windows Update options to " show recommended updates" and " Microsoft updates" enabled. After you have completely updated, then do a clean install of the new drivers.

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

   

 

Ok ill do that. Should i just run the clean uninstall utility and then install the drivers?

 

 

 

 

Do not use the AMD clean install tool...there are issues.

 

 To perform a 'clean install' of AMD graphics drivers: 1. IMPORTANT: All Windows Updates should be current, including the 'optional/suggested' updates 2. IMPORTANT: Disable all anti-virus/ad blockers/anti-malware/ anti-anything before trying to install 3. IMPORTANT: Netframework is required and must be the latest version. (from Windows Update) Create a system restore point before, just in caes. Download the drivers for your computer to the desktop. Follow steps 1-5 ( http://support.amd.com/en-us/download ).  Do not use 'auto-detect and install. Delete existing drivers from your computer: In computer control panel select 'uninstall a program' For computers with Intel processors: Select AMD install manager and choose 'express uninstall all AMD software' Including the install manager. For computers with AMD processors: Select AMD install manager and 'custom uninstall' the graphics drivers and CCC only.

 

Reboot.

 

Install the new driver suite.

 

Reboot.

 

 

 

 

Well no luck for me. I did all that but the driver suite just installed too fast like nothing new was installed/it was already installed. After i reboot, i couldnt acess the catalyst control center (i guess it was not installed properly) even though the installer didnt report any error. I guess i have to a new windows fresh install and install the drivers after i install the SP1

 05/11/2014 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Valesar
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/11/2014

Hi,

Though i have a different laptop i have the MR HD 5470 in it as well and i am experiencing some problems with it as well and i thought i wont open a new thread for it.

My laptop is a Packard Bell EasyNote TM85.

I have a fresh but fully updated Win 7 64bit on it. Tried to install the 14.4 package but it will not install the CIM or the display driver. Only the HDMI Audio Driver, Hydravision and the Gaming App. CIM is interrupted for some reason and fails to install but the display driver is not even listed as an option to install. As seen on this screenshot: Setup Screenshot

Screenshot of the error itself:

Screenshot of the error itself

The error report is the following:

Catalyst™ Install Manager
Installation Report
05/12/14 04:38:38

Hardware information
 
Name AMD Radeon Graphics Processor
Manufacturer Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Device ID 0x68e0
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x030000
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0x036d
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1025
Other hardware
Existing packages
HydraVision
AMD Gaming Evolved App
Packages for install
AMD Catalyst Install Manager
Final Status: Fail
Version of Item: 8.0.916.0
Size: 20 Mbytes
HDMI Audio Driver
Final Status: Success
Version of Item: 7.12.0.7718
Size: 1 Mbytes
HydraVision
Final Status: Success
Version of Item: 4.2.252.0
Size: 6 Mbytes

Other detected devices
 
Manufacturer Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Device ID 0xaa68
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x040300
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0x036d
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1025

Error messages
Application Install: install package failure!

 



Edited: 05/11/2014 at 10:39 PM by Valesar
 05/11/2014 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

I would try a clean install. Turn off any anti-virus etc. while your making the install.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/12/2014 09:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Valesar
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/11/2014

Driver Fusion said it needs premium to delete some items (I run it under safe mode):

"Enhanced Removal Mode

If you ever tried to delete driver family entries you might have noticed that there are usually several entries left behind. The free version of Driver Fusion is not able to delete files, directories and registry entries that are currently protected, locked or in use by the operating system, other users, or programs. You can rely on Driver Fusion Premium to automatically take several additional measures through safe Windows procedures to delete these entries, ensuring that the driver families leave absolutely no trace behind."

 

I did everything according to clean install except that I dont have CIM installed as it gives an error when trying to install. Also I did not remove the audio driver as it installs without problem even after CIM installation fails.

After this there is still no sign of graphics driver install option:

Install try 3

CIM installation error report is the same what I copied here in my previous post.

 05/12/2014 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

So does anyone knows what i have to do ?

 05/18/2014 05:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

So, i made a new fresh install of windows, installed the SP1, made sure the .net 4.5 was installed, installed new updates untill no more were found, i downloaded the 14.4 drivers, and then when i tried to install it said: Problem in installing package, again I dont know what more to do, can someone help me

 05/18/2014 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Where have you been downloading the drivers from? Try using these drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/18/2014 01:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotvan
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 05/08/2014

I downloaded them from AMD site (http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/mobile?os=Windows%207%20-%2064#amd-catalyst-packages). Those drivers you just linked, aren't those for Desktops? I have a laptop

Statistics
88774 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.