Topic Title: AMD and laptop manufacturers
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/05/2014 12:46 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/05/2014 12:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nobodyimportant
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/05/2014

I just wanted to say that i find it abolutely disheartening how AMD is completely unable to make a non-changing software interface for display brightness adjustment.

As many people before me i have tried to update my 3 year old officially supported display drivers (to 14.4). This went completely without any problems whatsoever, and the more complicated things, like switchable graphics systems, HP's powersaving settings, 3D applications, etc worked completely fine even after the installation, however the most simple task of them all and the most basic setting, the adjustable brightness completely stopped functioning.

I can not believe that it isn't possible for a professional dev team to develop a software interface for one single variable (brightness) that is compatible with windows' brightness output, and consistent between versions.

As it is, neither the hotkeys, nor windows settings work, nor is it possible to manually change those settings in CCC.

Even third party developers (leshcat) could manage to find solutions to the brighness issue, so it is simply unacceptable that AMD could not do the same.

Unfortunately for me the installation of that third party driver didn't work, so here i am stuck with either a driver that is 3 years old (8.8) and causes constant overheating or one that is stuck on blinding brightness.

 

Any suggestions as to what i can do would be greatly appreciated.

 



Edited: 06/05/2014 at 12:52 AM by nobodyimportant
 06/05/2014 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7210
Joined: 11/13/2009

Asus laptops have been plagued with this issue since version 13.4. Using a external monitor it works perfect. The laptop screen is black or barely visible. Try the 13.4 drivers...they seem to be the sweet spot.

edit; Use this mobility report form



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 06/05/2014 at 01:58 AM by stumped
 06/05/2014 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nobodyimportant
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/05/2014

Thank you for that report form.

I do not know if it's the same issue though. Lots of people have reported that their monitor is dark / at 10% brightness, but i have the opposite. Brightness is maximal no matter what i do.

 06/05/2014 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7210
Joined: 11/13/2009

Here is a possible fix. If it works for you, please report back.

 

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9MUsPAEohk

edit: It looks like this is for AMD graphics without  Intel  intergrated graphics

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 06/05/2014 at 02:49 PM by stumped
Statistics
84835 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.