Topic Title: Blue screen crash
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/16/2014 08:17 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/16/2014 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mrmr123
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/16/2014

Hello,

I wanted to check if there is an update for my graphic card, so i chose auto detect from the website, and an update was installed, after that i experinaced few issues, first one was this box in the picture below

http://s12.postimg.org/vclm68arx/Issue_1.png

i have power media dock, when i connect it, i get another error sayig catalyst stoped working, and sometimes when i connect it, i get blue screen crash and system reboot. and somties this happen when i disconnect it.

 

Not sure if this is the right place to ask for help, what should i do? is there a fix for this? if not, can i roll back to older driver when thigs were working normally?

 

Some infromation about my laptop

Product Name: Sony SVZ13116GAXI

Operating System: Genuine Windows® 7 Professional with Service Pack 1 64bit (English Version)

AMD Radeon™ HD 7670M*19

 

 06/17/2014 01:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

You can clean install the latest supported driver



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/17/2014 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7273
Joined: 11/13/2009

Sony does not allow generic drivers...Read this. They will not work. Sony, Panasonic, and Toshiba opted out of generic AMD driver updates so you must use drivers furnished by the manufacturer.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/17/2014 05:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mrmr123
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/16/2014

Yes i read that after i got these problems there should be warning somewhere when you chose to the auto detect update and before you proceed, normal people will just need to update from time to time for some games...

 

Thank god, i found some restore point, now eveyrthing went back to normal. except for steam, maleware byte, and sony vio care, all got currupted.

 

 06/17/2014 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7273
Joined: 11/13/2009

If your laptop has switchable graphics (AMD and Intel) you might use Leshcat drivers (Google it)....if you don't have switchable graphics you can use a driver mod like the one Guru 3D offers...to get the latest drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/17/2014 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mrmr123
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/16/2014

Thanks stumped

Yes i have switchable graphics (AMD and Intel), i will keep this in mind the next time i try to do an update

 06/17/2014 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7273
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Mrmr123 Thanks stumped

 

Yes i have switchable graphics (AMD and Intel), i will keep this in mind the next time i try to do an update

 

They work really well...you can have the latest drivers...but remember, you must have a set of default (Sony) drivers installed...It doesn't matter how old they are, as Leshcat installs over them.

 Leshcat

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
86413 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.