Topic Title: Dell Inspiron 15R and Catalyst 14.4 error
Topic Summary: Installing Catalyst 14.4 leads to display issue
Created On: 06/18/2014 09:36 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/18/2014 09:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Enlighter4407
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/18/2014

Hello, i'm currently using a Dell Inspiron 15R 3537: core i5 4200U 1.6 GHz-2.3 GHz, 4 Gb RAM, running hybrid Intel HD Graphics 4400 (driver version 10.18.10.3621) + Radeon HD 8670M (driver version 13.151.0.0, as downloaded from Dell's drivers website). My OS is Windows 8.1 x64

I attempted to install Catalyst 14.4 driver suite onto my laptop, as you can see, and i have followed the uninstallation protocol that is recommended on this forum (express uninstallation of Catalyst 13.15, reboot, install Catalyst 14.4, reboot). Upon the first reboot immediately following the installation, everything was normal, gaming performance increased noticeably as promised by AMD.

However, when i try to put my laptop either to sleep or into hibernation, the display turns off, but the computer refuses to enter sleep or hibernation; the only thing to do then was to force choke the laptop by holding down the power button. Furthermore, at re-booting, the display goes dark (it is on, but it's dark) at the logon screen of Windows, and there was nothing i could do but to reboot again into Safe Mode. I suppose these 2 problems are closely related to the installation of Catalyst 14.4 suite since after i restore my laptop to before i installed it (revert to 13.15), everything was normal again.

Could someone help me out here? Did i do something wrong, or is my laptop incapable of running 14.4 driver? I did try the same thing with Catalyst 14.6 (the latest beta driver), and the result was the same.

 06/18/2014 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7444
Joined: 11/13/2009

Does the laptop have 'switchable' graphics? Meaning, does it automatically switch from the Intel to the AMD depending on graphics demand?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 06/18/2014 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Enlighter4407
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/18/2014

Yes, my laptop does have switchable graphics

 06/18/2014 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7444
Joined: 11/13/2009

Ok...From AMD

quote: If you experience difficulty while using the generic AMD Catalyst Mobility drivers, we recommend reverting to the driver provided by your notebook vendor. Please contact your notebook vendor for their most recent graphics drivers.

 
The following notebooks are not compatible:

 Toshiba® notebooks
 Sony® VAIO® notebooks
 Panasonic® notebooks
 Notebooks equipped with switchable graphics

So by using 'generic' drivers (which is all AMD offers) you broke Dell's switchable program. Use system restore to a point before you installed the AMD drivers, then go to Dell support and install the drivers they furnish for your model laptop.

If the drivers offered by Dell are old, which is common, then your other choice is to use the Leshcat modded drivers.

 

 

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 06/19/2014 04:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Enlighter4407
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/18/2014

Thank you, i really appreciate your solution. I will proceed with Leshcat and report the results as soon as possible

 06/19/2014 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Enlighter4407
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/18/2014

All right, installing Leshcat modded drivers seemed to fix the restarting problem, i can now shut down and boot my laptop normally. However, the sleep and hibernation problems still remain; the display turns off but both power and hard disk are still on. 

Interestingly, running sfc /scannow in Command Prompt resulted in the message "Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them. Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log." I will try Windows Recovery, starting with Automatic Repair, to see if this problem (if solved) would relate to the main issue of sleep and hibernation

 06/27/2014 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
barreto
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/27/2014

Same problem here. Dell's driver doesn't have it, but is pretty worse than AMD's driver for games.

 06/30/2014 08:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cemiunes
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/30/2014

Hello, I have the same problem here. I have the Inspiron 15r,  Radeon HD 8670M, i7, 8Gb ram.

When I update to Catalyst 14.4, computer does not shutdown, and either when put to sleep or into hibernation, the display turns off, but the computer refuses to enter sleep or hibernation; the only thing to do then was to force choke the laptop by holding down the power button. 

Does anyone know how to fix it? This is awful, because I bought a nice laptop to play games, but he games don't run fine with the old driver... and the new driver screws up the computer...

 11/22/2014 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pranavg1890
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/22/2014

Same Problem here bro.. I have same laptop with same configuration.. I dont know why there isnt an option to use a fixed gpu instead of using these f**king switchable graphics technology ....so called enduro....It is so disgusting that we can use the hardware provided to its true limit....



-------------------------
AMD Radeon 8670m
Intel i5 4200u
Dell 15r 5537
Statistics
87530 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.