Topic Title: AMD Graphics Card (8730m)
Topic Summary: Problem with Dedicated Graphics Card
Created On: 07/28/2014 09:56 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/28/2014 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sinxcross
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/28/2014

Hi guys I have a problem with my dedicated graphics card.

I resetted my Laptop to factory settings and now I cant find/see my dedicated graphics card under 'Display Adapters' (Device Manager)

I also tried installing AMD Driver 8730m on dell but then that doesnt seem to work either and I kept getting the message

1. installation complete (warnings occurred during installation)

2. application install: install failed

so I am wandering if anyone could help me with this matter

 07/28/2014 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7416
Joined: 11/13/2009

When you reset your computer did you go to Windows Update and install all the 'optional' and 'recommended' updates? That should be done before trying to install graphics drivers. Does your computer have switchable graphics?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 07/28/2014 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sinxcross
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/28/2014

Yes I installed all the updates then tried installing the graphics driver. But even after the updates, my device manager still cant find my graphics card (kept using scan for hardware changes, but still nothing). 

I have a switchable one and it was working before I did a factory reset.

 07/28/2014 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7416
Joined: 11/13/2009

Have you tried using a 'have disk' installation from the Device Manager?

Here is a guide for doing that...just substitute AMD for 'Intel'. Use the drivers from Dell. Does your laptop have a AMD or Intel processor?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 07/28/2014 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sinxcross
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/28/2014

Sorry but I dont quite follow on how to do it with 'Dell'

This is how my device manager look and you can see clearly that there is no Graphics card detected

ss1ss2ss3

 07/28/2014 11:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7416
Joined: 11/13/2009

Well this is the problem with switchable graphics. The original drivers contain both the AMD and Intel drivers combined...with a Dell program that will switch graphics according to demand. This is why both AMD and Intel recommend using the custom drivers furnished by the laptop manufacturer. AMD has this to say about it. You are going to have to get the original drivers installed somehow, and I don't understand why you could not install them with the factory refresh. Are you using a disk or a back up image? Either way, you should have a working set of drivers. It could be that a Windows Update installed a graphics driver that borked everything. If it was me, I would start over. Just install what's on the disk....no updates from Dell or Windows. Check to see if you have both graphics recognized. From there, install updates for your model laptop from Dell....especially any bios updates. If all is still well, MANUALLY run Windows Update and install updates that have nothing to do with your graphics...with the exception of WDM updates. If all is still well, use the Leshcat drivers to update your graphics...very easy to do, but you must have a working set of factory drivers as Leshcat drivers install over the existing factory set. You might even want to install Leshcat first....before updating anything.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 07/28/2014 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sinxcross
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/28/2014

Ok thank you. I will try and restore it to factory setting again. I do have the disk with me 'Drivers and Utilities' and youre saying just download and install what is in the disk(all of it)? And not to use Windows update until I have the graphics card working? 

Factory restore will take a while, so will try to update on what happened after.

Thank you



Edited: 07/28/2014 at 12:11 PM by sinxcross
 07/28/2014 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7416
Joined: 11/13/2009

I noticed that the DX says you have Windows 8...is this correct? Be aware that you can update to Windows 8.1 for free. There will be no support for Windows 8, driver-wise, from AMD and Microsoft is stopping support for Windows 8 as well.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 07/28/2014 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sinxcross
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/28/2014

I was using 8.1 before but didnt like it and that is why I did a factory reset, my graphics was working fine before the reset. If upgrading to 8.1 will fix this problem then I wouldnt mind sticking to it.

Should I try and upgrade to 8.1 and see how it goes or just do a factory then go to 8.1?

 07/28/2014 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7416
Joined: 11/13/2009

I really can't answer that....I do know that there have been issues with people 'upgrading' to WIN 8.1 from Windows7 and Windows8 because the upgrade procedure was not followed. It is always best to do a clean install of Win 8.1 rather than a 'upgrade' from a existing OS.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 07/28/2014 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sinxcross
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/28/2014

My only problem with Windows 8.1 is that my Disk usage is always at 100% even if I wasnt doing antyhing. so I tried to go back to windows 8

I also cant do a clean install as my laptop came with 8, I do have the cd partition but not the product key.



Edited: 07/28/2014 at 12:57 PM by sinxcross
 07/28/2014 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7416
Joined: 11/13/2009

Ok...just follow the instructions to fully update your Windows 8 before the Windows 8.1 updating. All manufacturers will have a 'how to' update procedure.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 07/29/2014 05:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sinxcross
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/28/2014

Hi Sir, I just updated to Win 8.1 but I still have the same problem, my graphics card is nowhere to be found.

 08/02/2014 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7416
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=169206&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

Statistics
87438 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.