Topic Title: CCC does not install
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/22/2014 09:20 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/22/2014 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
77juice
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/22/2014

Hi, I just bought a new laptop. The model is HP 470 G2 with Intel i5 CPU and GPU. My laptop has a dedicated GPU AMD Radeon R5 255.

I can get my computer harware manager to detect the dedicated GPU but I cannot get Catalyst Control Center to install on my system (Win7 professional 64 bit). I have downloaded the 14.4 suite and re-installed it several times, but the installer does not give me the option to install CCC at all. I can install the AMD install manager and additional game software but I cannot change the primary display adapter.

How do I get the CCC software installed on my PC?

 08/22/2014 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

 

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=175451&enterthread=y

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/22/2014 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
77juice
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/22/2014

Yes, that would be the process I've already gone through. No CCC-option available in the AMD install package, just the install manager and the optional game-software.

 08/22/2014 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Ok...what is your laptop make and model...and do you have switchable graphics. And you did completely uninstall the previous drivers?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/22/2014 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
77juice
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/22/2014

I got HP 470 G2 with i5 chip. Yes I should have an option to use either GPU, yes I did completely remove previous drivers. Nothing at all at device manager before I reinstalled. The drivers are fine, the CCC software is missing.

 08/22/2014 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Not concerned with what device manager shows....did you follow the guide I linked you to? Using DDU? Also, in that same post is this:

NOTE! Certain laptop configurations are not compatible with AMD's Mobility Catalyst™ Driver.
      AMD provides graphics drivers for most laptop brands and models for the Mobility Radeon™ HD series of graphics cards.
      If the AMD Mobility Radeon Driver Verification tool reports that the hardware is incompatible, then the notebook manufacturer is the exclusive provider of the graphics drivers for your notebook. (GPU-28041)
      Sony, Toshiba, and Panasonic will not accept generic drivers. Get drivers from manufacturers support site.
      Laptops with 'switchable' graphics must use manufacturer supplied drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/22/2014 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
77juice
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/22/2014

Ok, did not run that ATI compatibility tool before - no go, says it. Thanks for pointing that out.

 

Any idea how can I force the computer to use the ATI GPU? BIOS is not the answer, no selection there.

 08/22/2014 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Since your laptop is new...go to the support/driver downloads  @HP.

Generally, laptops are shipped with the latest whql drivers.

DDU is a tool to remove all instances of a graphics card's drivers from the registry and hidden files.

Did you right click on your desktop to see if CCC is there?

If you can't solve it this way, use system restore to a point before you tried to use generic drivers from AMD.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 08/22/2014 at 04:43 PM by stumped
Statistics
85504 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.